Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Hitec Eclipse 7

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Hitec Eclipse 7

Old 02-01-2007, 03:35 PM
  #1  
jjtown
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Many, LA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hitec Eclipse 7

I have been flying Futaba for a long time and I am thinking of buying a Hitec Eclipse 7(spectra). I was wondering what the Pros and cons of this system? Or would I be better off with a Futaba 9 ch.?
Jim
Old 02-01-2007, 05:03 PM
  #2  
alan0899
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warialda NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,275
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

G'day Mate,
Have you checked out the Spektrum DX7?
All your servos & batteries will work, just change receivers & away ya go.
Old 02-01-2007, 05:14 PM
  #3  
Cyberwolf
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Cyberwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Blackfoot , ID
Posts: 2,251
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

Hello I have the Hitec eclipse 7 QPCM and it has been a flawless set up so far (2 yrs) Myself I couldn't ask for a nicer easy to use radio.
I have been looking at the Specktrum DX 7 myself as it is supposed to be bullet proof for RF. But I'll wait a while yet and get more feed back to see if this newer style high tech stuff is cracked up to what its supposed to be.
Old 02-01-2007, 05:15 PM
  #4  
BillyGoat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: -, MT
Posts: 680
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

Depends on what your looking for in a radio. What type of flying do you do?

Pros – Eclipse is very economically priced.

Cons – Eclipse does not as many functions as a 9C
Old 02-01-2007, 06:59 PM
  #5  
jjtown
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Many, LA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

Im 6o years old and I fly a GP Spacewalker, GP tiger moth , 90 funtania. Jim
Old 02-01-2007, 09:26 PM
  #6  
BillyGoat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: -, MT
Posts: 680
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

I’ve been using an Eclipse with the spectra for three years now. I think it’s a good system considering the price. There have been a couple times I wish it had some programming abilities of other, more advanced, systems. It was nothing that couldn't be worked around just that those functions would have been nice.

What you’re flying right now the Eclipse would be a good radio, although I can’t remember does the Funtana 90 have dual elevator servos? In that regard the Hitec does not have ailevator function so a reversing Y harness is necessary.

Hope this helps.
Old 02-01-2007, 11:31 PM
  #7  
jjtown
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Many, LA
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

I am worried about the switching back and fourth of frequencies. Have you ever heard of any malfunctions with this procedure?
Old 02-02-2007, 09:32 AM
  #8  
bhole74
Senior Member
 
bhole74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anderson, MO
Posts: 1,084
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

After 4 years of flying with my Eclipse, I upgraded to a 9303 and glad I did, much more mix possibilities. My module has recently shown the wear on the gears in the dials, I sometimes have to play with it a bit to get it locked into one of my most frequently used channels (I have taken all planes off that freq on the Eclipse). Time for a new module.
Old 02-02-2007, 04:07 PM
  #9  
BillyGoat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: -, MT
Posts: 680
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

ORIGINAL: jjtown

I am worried about the switching back and fourth of frequencies. Have you ever heard of any malfunctions with this procedure?
bhole74 is the first I’ve heard. I don't switch much, I typically only fly three different frequencies, so my module works just like the day I bought it. But it is sure nice being able to switch.

Using any synthesized system comes with responsibility. I've heard of people shooting down others because the module was set to another frequency than they thought.

The only way to determine what frequency the module is set to, is by looking at the dials. Since the Spectra's dials are on the side the user must remove the module to see them. An idea that I took right here from RCU, is cutting a hole into he side of the TX where the module mounts. Now I can see the dials with a quick glance. Plus the frequencies can be change without removing the module.
Old 02-02-2007, 05:45 PM
  #10  
bhole74
Senior Member
 
bhole74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Anderson, MO
Posts: 1,084
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

I switch channels a lot. My 2 favorite planes were on 2 different channels, causing me to switch every time I flew the other. I'm really surprised it took this long to show the wear. I plan to send it back to Hi-tec for them to check and replace if nescessary.
Old 02-02-2007, 06:04 PM
  #11  
Murdoc
 
Murdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: south, NORWAY
Posts: 615
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

I had a hitec eclipse for about 4 months. I was not pleased with it
The price is an advantage compared to other radios. But it only has a 7 model memory..
When I switched to a futaba 9c, the glitching suddenly disappeared..
Anyway, I"m sure the eclipse is a ok radio, but to me it was a bit to simple.
I had the new qpcm version, so I can"t really talk about the other versions.
Old 02-17-2007, 03:19 PM
  #12  
pt19 flyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
pt19 flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 489
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

hi
you will not be unhappy with the hitec eclipse TX. I have the eclipse with the spectra module and also have one of the older prism7 by hitec. great service also.

good luck and happy flying

pt19 flyer
Old 02-19-2007, 11:23 AM
  #13  
WILDCRASHWILLY
Senior Member
 
WILDCRASHWILLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Western KY
Posts: 981
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

I have three E-Clipse Seven radios. They have been great radios for the price and I would recommend them to anyone.
Old 02-19-2007, 05:16 PM
  #14  
jaka
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Upplands Vasby, SWEDEN
Posts: 7,815
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

Hi!
I seen many Hitec radios true the years that did not work properly. Sorry!
Go JR or Futaba
Today I would personaly choose a DX-7 spread spectrum radio (made by JR).
Old 02-19-2007, 06:04 PM
  #15  
PiccoLino
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Modena, ITALY
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Hitec Eclipse 7

When Hitec Eclipse 7 QCPM's work well they are good radios, even more precise than Futaba 7C but I had faced problems (glitching erratically) when mine was brand new. Then I got it replaced under warranty and things have been just fine so far. If you buy one make sure it has got no defect before you use it for your favorite plane.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.