Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

OS 46AX Prop Size

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

OS 46AX Prop Size

Old 02-01-2007, 06:29 PM
poppy2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS 46AX Prop Size

This may be silly but here goes. I have an OS46AX engine on my trainer and have an 11x7 prop on it. It seems to take off pretty fast and fly darn fast in my opion. I like the taking off fast aspect but don't really care if it flys super fast. I am just new at flying on my own and don't need it flying at 100 mph.

I have been trying to understand props and what pitch and diameter have to do with take off and flying speed. What I am looking for is lots of thrust, slower landing , slower in flight. This would take in what I have learned a large diameter and low pitch. Going from what I have on my engine now (11x7) and going to a 10x6 would be an equivalent match. And I think that the lower pitch would get me what I am trying to achieve, that is lots of thrust, slower landing, and slower in flight speed.

Now my question. In the manual that came with the Os 46AX engine it gives prop recommandations and they are: 10.5X6, 11x6-8, 12x6-7. I am really wanting to put a 10x6 prop on that thing and see how it runs. Is there a 10.5 diameter prop? (10 and a half) I understand the 11x6 through 8 and the 12 x 6 through 7. I have only been flying for about a year and I don't think I have ever seen a prop that came in half sizes but maybe they do. I know this seems a little confusing. Any clarification would be very appreciated.

Poppy2
Old 02-01-2007, 06:33 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: OS 46AX Prop Size

They do make the "half sizes", but not all shops carry it and it can be hard to find at times. You can put a 10x6 on that engine with no problems at all.

Hope this helps

Ken
Old 02-01-2007, 06:39 PM
hezik