Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Setting up airplane rudder gyro

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Old 04-07-2007, 08:20 AM
rhagen

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Setting up airplane rudder gyro

Guys, I need some basic info on gyros since I have no experience with them.

My goldberg cub is a handfull to keep straight on takeoff, so I bought a gyro to put on the rudder. The one I got (EFlite G90) is remotely controllable from the transmitter and will do rate mode or heading lock mode.

Which is which? In one mode if I swing the tail the rudder will deflect, but quickly go back straight, is that rate mode? In the other mode if I swing the tail the rudder deflects and stays that way, sounds like heading lock?

Which mode do I want to keep it tracking straight on takeoff? I'm guessing it's the 2nd mode I described above (guessing that's heading lock mode) because if the tail swings I want rudder to be applied until it gets the plane back straight.

I plan to only use on takeoffs (and maybe on landings).

Thanks,
Rick
Old 04-07-2007, 08:44 AM
Insanemoondoggie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Setting up airplane rudder gyro

I have a Goldberg cub clipped wing . I have the wheels slighty towed in , which helps with the ground handling.
I flew my GP Piper Cub .20 before I had finished the Goldberg . The .20 is probably one of the worst ground handling planes you can build . I went to a place where I had several 100 yards of wide open mowed grass and ran the Cub .20 on the ground till I had learned to control it pretty good. But it took serveral hours of practice.
Not only could I handle the Cub better , my skills greatly improved , just by praticing on the ground, my rudder thumb was`nt soo dumb anymore . lol