Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

Old 04-10-2007, 09:41 AM
  #1  
abufletcher
Thread Starter
 
abufletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Zentsuji, JAPAN
Posts: 15,019
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

I have a Hitec receiver that I'm trying to use with an Airtronics/Sanwa transmitter (VG6000) and no matter how I position the wire loop setting switch all I get is wild twitching (before the servo just totally locks up).

Now here's the deal, I'm in Japan so what I normally do is just swap Japanese frequency crystal sets into my Airtronics radio gear. I've always used dual conversion crystals and never had any problems. But with the HiTec receiver this is a disaster.

Can anyone tell me what's going on here? Does the HiTec gear need the single conversion crystal?
Old 04-10-2007, 10:30 AM
  #2  
aerowoof
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: pembroke, NH
Posts: 2,962
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

what model reciever?
Old 04-10-2007, 12:32 PM
  #3  
abufletcher
Thread Starter
 
abufletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Zentsuji, JAPAN
Posts: 15,019
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

It says: HFD-08RD DUAL CONVERSION * SHIFT SELECTABLE

On the side there's a label that shows the jumper positions (two left pins = HiTec/Futaba and two right pins = Airtronics/JR)

But as I said I get the same result no matter how I set the jumper loop. I've tried three different Sanwa crystals all with the same result. Initially it does seem like there is some kind of reception going on -- but it quickly becomes irratic and then the servos locks up.

Old 04-10-2007, 03:15 PM
  #4  
mscic-RCU
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
mscic-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New London, OH
Posts: 1,237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

need to use hitec crystals, not sanwa crystals.
Old 04-10-2007, 10:16 PM
  #5  
abufletcher
Thread Starter
 
abufletcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Zentsuji, JAPAN
Posts: 15,019
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Problem with HiTec Rx and/or crystal

I knew it was a mistake to switch Rx brands. OK. I'll look into where I can order the Japanese HiTec crystals.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.