Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Battery packs

Old 02-25-2003, 03:33 AM
  #1  
jaustin
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Farmington, NY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

I'm on the hunt for a couple of battery packs for a new project. Where do you like to buy yours from? Good or bad experiences, etc.

John
Old 02-25-2003, 03:36 AM
  #2  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

I've had the good fortune to never have a bad battery pack. I have bought them mostly from the local hobby shop or online shops. Nothing special. Just Sanyo's for the most part.
Old 02-26-2003, 02:38 AM
  #3  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

Try Radical RC
www.radicalrc.com
Old 02-26-2003, 02:51 AM
  #4  
Mike Bogh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: MT Vernon, WA
Posts: 2,460
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

Yup, Radical RC is the best place for me too...
Old 02-26-2003, 06:06 PM
  #5  
staggerwing
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
staggerwing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dun Rovin Ranch, WY
Posts: 773
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Batterries America

I've been buying from Batteries America in Wisconson for years for both my RC and Ham radio equipment. Always fresh cells, lots of different sizes. I just got a 5000ma 4.8 pack from them for a giant plane.
Old 02-27-2003, 04:29 AM
  #6  
jaustin
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Farmington, NY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cell types

What "types" of nicad cells do you like to use for receiver packs?
I'm equiping a 1/4 scale Taylor craft with three analog servos and three digitals. G26 up front, so no need for ignition pack...
Old 02-27-2003, 06:12 AM
  #7  
Mike Bogh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: MT Vernon, WA
Posts: 2,460
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

Always 6V...1200 MA minimum
Old 02-27-2003, 06:38 AM
  #8  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,127
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Battery packs

I run 4 cell packs in everything from prop, to heli, to jet to giant. smaller prop usually 1200+ mah is OK, I run 1800's in the heli, jet and Giant because Im using more servo's and more power for other electronics.

.03
Old 02-27-2003, 07:08 AM
  #9  
Mike Bogh
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: MT Vernon, WA
Posts: 2,460
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery packs

Y'all better compare your torque and servo speed on 4.8 VS 6V...you'll switch to 6 V.....
Much more torque and blazingly quicker...speed is more necessary for any 3D flying....
Hot Tip...
Old 02-27-2003, 07:09 AM
  #10  
JohnVH
My Feedback: (38)
 
JohnVH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Ferndale, WA
Posts: 16,127
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Battery packs

Thats great, but on my servo's, they are fast and powerful enough on 4.8v. Besides, I cant stand the jitters 6v gives some setups!!
Old 02-27-2003, 07:18 AM
  #11  
DJ Gadget
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES
Posts: 48
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Energiser

We in Dubai use the new rechargeable batterry from Energizer. They are NiMH batteries. The ratings are AA @ 1750mAH and AAA @ 800mAH. We construct them ourselves and shrink wrap them.

Weve been using them for a while now and typically the charge in them lasts for about 10 flights of 15 mins with out a recharge.

Great value at about $14 a battery pack, and given the NiMh properties, no battery memory.

We use them in our Tx's and Rx's.

I will never turn back.

The AAA's are great as you can custoise them to fit snuggly into your fuse, due to there size.
Old 02-28-2003, 12:14 AM
  #12  
jaustin
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Farmington, NY
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nicads

What I should have asked in my previous post, was what letter designation Nicads do you use? I.E. - AE, AU, SCR, etc.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.