Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Painting Solartex

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Painting Solartex

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2007, 04:14 PM
DaveB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Painting Solartex

I am almost ready to cover the Sig Citabria I have been building. I am leaning toward Solartex for covering, however I have never used it before and would appreciate any input from anyone who has experience with the product.

My questions are: Can white Solartex be painted or is it preferable to use another roll of Solatex in the second color. For example, the cabin top and upper fuse sides are yellow and the bottom and lower sides are white. In this case a roll of white and a roll of yellow.

If painting is the best choice, what kind of paint? I have been told latex works well, but I would have to brush it on. I'm thinking about Krylon rattle cans or similar.

Can Monokote be ironed on Solartex? For example, strips of various widths on the wings for trim.

I also am aware that Solartex should be clear coated with poly-urethane.

Any and all input appreciated.

DaveB

Old 05-28-2007, 05:48 PM
aerowoof

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Painting Solartex

it is easy to use can be painted but you can have bleed thru under the masking tape as it is a fabric and the paint will weep thru the weave unless sealed along the edge with a clear.lates works fine but if using glow fuel needs to be fuel proofed with poly u
Old 05-28-2007, 05:51 PM
R8893
My Feedback: (20)

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts