Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Robart hinges

Old 06-09-2007, 07:52 PM
bpoates25

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robart hinges

Hey all, I'm new to building, and saw Robart hinges at my LHS. Has anyone ever used them, and if so are they a good product? Seems that drilling 1/8 inch holes would be much easier than cutting slots. Thanks.
Old 06-09-2007, 08:04 PM
badger5964
My Feedback: (6)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Robart hinges

I used them on my Bridi Killer Bee. One must make sure there is enough stock to allow for strength. You do not need to have the entire hinge buried however. I used the drill point jig. Alignment was perfect. It is time consumiong as you must glue one side let it cure then add the other. If you do not want a large gap you'll need to recess the hinge into the control surface. As far as effort CA with a GP slot machine is much easier. However I prefer the action of the hinge point better. I'll use them again.
Old 06-09-2007, 08:23 PM
bpoates25

Yah, I was wondering how good they would work on the stab because of the thickness. Not much thickness to work with there. Well cool. Thanks for the input. Think I may just give them a try.
Old 06-09-2007, 08:38 PM
krayzc-RCU
My Feedback: (31)

everyone uses them for super holding power on the gassers. those are some great higes for any product as they do come in different sizes....
Old 06-09-2007, 08:42 PM
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (108)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

The other draw back to using the hinge points is the you must measure exactly where they will go on your stabs and control surfaces. You need to make sure that your holes are all lined up prior to using any glue. The guide that Robart makes is very good to get everything centered befor drilling. Good Luck, Dave
Old 06-09-2007, 08:43 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)