Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

After run oil??

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

After run oil??

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2007, 01:48 PM
Sik

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default After run oil??

First off let me say that I am brand new to the hobbie. My question is when I'm done flying for the day, what if anything needs to be done to the motor?? My plane is a trainer with an OS .46 FX. I use Cool Power 15%. On the fuel bottle it says DO NOT USE AFTER RUN OIL. I've heard to pinch off the fuel line and run the motor at full power. Please Help. I'm Clueless and want the motor to last a very longtime.. Thanks
Old 07-02-2007, 02:48 PM
OldScaleGuy
My Feedback: (2)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: After run oil??

I can't imagine a fuel manufacturer saying not to use after run oil. Each to their own I guess. I used Omega products for a lot of years and have since switched to Wildcat and I do like it better. Not that there is any thing wrong with Omega. My practice over the years has been to close the carb, fill with after run oil, open the carb and flip the prop through six or so times. Pinching the fuel line off with the motor running can be dangerous to your fingers.
Old 07-02-2007, 02:57 PM
anonymouse

Old scale guy..Morgan Fuels (Cool Power and Omega) say right on the bottle and at thier web site "do not use after run oil" they have an additive to keep engine from rusting and thier fuels do not react well to petroleum based oil. Drain tank and run engine dry is a good idea though perhaps rather than pinch fuel line, just remove from needle valve the start engine and run dry.. I have never used after run oil and as of yet had no problem with rust or corrosion..
Old 07-02-2007, 05:24 PM
Sik

Thanks Guys..
Old 07-02-2007, 06:00 PM
Deerslayer