Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Old 03-11-2003, 07:18 PM
  #1  
strato911
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

I am faced with an interesting problem, and hope someone here can help. I have tried searching RCU, but have not found the details I need, so my appologies if this has been recently covered.

Due to space limitations on my current (custom) project, I am considering using dual tanks. One would be close to the engine, and the other near the CG. The engine is a converted WeedEater® gasoline engine without muffler pressure, but I'm told it has a pump. How exactly are the fuel lines hooked up to ensure a good fuel supply? I could use one long, skinny tank as well, but I am concerned the clunk will suck air while in a dive. Also, if I want only one tank, I have to make my own, since I can't find a comercially made tank which will fit (I want 16oz or more).

Thanks in advance for any help (epecially illustrations).
Old 03-11-2003, 08:04 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Plug the feed from the rear tank into the vent on the front tank. A gasser will pull the fuel.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	62184_7722.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	38225  
Old 03-11-2003, 08:09 PM
  #3  
strato911
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Thanks MinnFlyer, that'll be easier than trying to make my own tank. I can get 2 - 8oz tanks in that way no problems.

How do I run the vent of the second tank so that it doesn't spill during manouvers?
Old 03-11-2003, 08:33 PM
  #4  
MaxThrottle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Barrie, ON, CANADA
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Originally posted by strato911
How do I run the vent of the second tank so that it doesn't spill during manouvers?
Good question!

I've often been told to place a Perry check valve allowing flow to go only into the tank.

But in an inverted run, more foaming seems to occur.

So I am also interested if there are other solutions to this.

_____________________________________
Max Throttle

Departure Recovery: Stretching the space and time in the brief seconds before a crash.
Old 03-11-2003, 09:28 PM
  #5  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stacking Tanks

Dennis
I have successfully stacked up to three tanks for a .45 powered X-country airplane. In that case: 12oz in the nose, 14oz in the radio compartment and 24 oz above the wing on the CG. I did use an oscillating pump because of almost eight inch change in head level between the tanks.

Your carb pump like Minn Flyer says should be plenty. And the hook up is exactly like his drawing. It would be my suggestion to take a hint from the Ukie guys and loop the vent of the rear tank upward then down and forward and direct it straight into the prop flow. Leakage will be minimal.

John
Old 03-12-2003, 02:33 AM
  #6  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Can a gas engine use muffler pressure?
Old 03-12-2003, 05:36 AM
  #7  
strato911
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

In theory it should be possible, but I sure don't want to see what happens if the exhaust still has a slight flame :stupid: . An old lawnmower my dad had used to shoot a flame out the muffler 6 inches when the engine got hot and misfired...
If this happens on a plane using muffler pressure - BOOM!! Don't worry about landing it.
Old 03-12-2003, 07:02 AM
  #8  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Hmmm... maybe I can talk one of my fellow club members into doing it then. I'll leave the "boom" part out of the conversation though.
Old 03-12-2003, 09:23 PM
  #9  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Originally posted by strato911
How do I run the vent of the second tank so that it doesn't spill during manouvers?
Just run a line from the vent to the outside of the plane. You'll need that to tell when you're full anyway.

And NEVER use muffler pressure on a gasser! Like Strato said

"BOOM"
Old 03-13-2003, 03:40 PM
  #10  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

MinnFlyer,
I would like to use that picture in my tips section
Old 03-13-2003, 05:27 PM
  #11  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

You (and anyone else) may use any of my pics for a not-for-profit use. All we ask is that you credit RCU for the pic. Thanks
Old 03-13-2003, 06:36 PM
  #12  
strato911
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,479
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual tank, 1 engine - How to?

Originally posted by MinnFlyer
You (and anyone else) may use any of my pics for a not-for-profit use. All we ask is that you credit RCU for the pic. Thanks
Thanks in advance. If I ever get around to making my own site , that'll save me having to draw them all myself.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.