Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

rc 56 glue

Old 09-17-2007, 03:12 AM
  #1  
frank99
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheridan, AR
Posts: 810
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rc 56 glue

is there a way to use rc 56 glue for windows with out get it everwhere runs to much?
Old 09-17-2007, 05:10 AM
  #2  
OldScaleGuy
My Feedback: (2)
 
OldScaleGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Reidsville, NC
Posts: 2,933
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

Just use small amounts. I use a toothpick a lot when applying RC56 type glue.
Old 09-17-2007, 10:18 AM
  #3  
Dsegal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 2,065
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

Pour a little into a dish and let it sit for a while until it thickens up a bit.
Old 09-17-2007, 10:34 AM
  #4  
Gremlin Castle
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 1,467
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

Another option that I use is a disposable syringe with the point removed. Remove the plunger and put in a small amount of RC-56, bleed the air and pull it along the edge of the window frame while applying plunger pressure. About 30 seconds practice will get you the right amount of drag speed and plunger pressure.

The bead of glue layed down is perfect and quick.

Put the needle tip down in a glass of water between applications and flush the syringe with warm watter when the jop is complete.
Old 09-17-2007, 12:13 PM
  #5  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue


ORIGINAL: frank99

is there a way to use rc 56 glue for windows with out get it everwhere runs to much?
If your RC56 is coming out watery, I suggest you unscrew the top and stir around inside the bottle. You may find a "skin" that should be removed, with thick fluid beneath. The thick stuff is good, just pick some up with a toothpick, wipe off the excess, and lay it in the window frame where you want it. Takes a while to do a big frame, but you have some time to work with it.

Good luck,
Dave Olson
Old 09-17-2007, 02:18 PM
  #6  
frank99
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheridan, AR
Posts: 810
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

thanks to all this is a show plane h9 182 large windows will take a look inside the bottle and get out the tools and take my time frank
Old 09-17-2007, 03:21 PM
  #7  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,517
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: rc 56 glue

I run a thin bead for about 10" and then spread it with a Q-tip. Spreading it breaks the surface tension that caused it to bead. And after 5-10 seconds the spead out glue locks onto where it's at and you got no worries about runs unless you got way too much glue. And the good thing is right when it locks on it starts going tacky to boot.

I go around the inside of the canopy doing that Q-tip deal. When done, I set it aside and do the same deal around the fuselage where the canopy is going to touch. The Q-tip wipe is the trick in this technique.

When doing it this way, very thin application works the best. You're insuring coverage by spreading with the Q-tip so very little is needed. And if you got too much on, you're wiping it with the Q-tip, just wipe off the "too much".

Best part of the whole technique is that when you put the canopy on and run around the outside, the tackiness holds the canopy in place. But you can easily shift it. And any excess that squeezes out wipes right off with a wet paper towel. Have a couple ready.

It's so bloody easy it floored me first time I used the Q-tips and wet papertowels. And if you've every tried to epoxy one on................ hooo hahahhhhhhhhhh does this work quick and easy.

Magic stuff!!

I did this Tiger60 canopy a couple of nights ago in about 10 minutes and didn't bother to use any tape to hold it in place. The tackiness and squeezing out the excess stuck it very securely. Next morning it was good to go.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Li20861.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	147.9 KB
ID:	764793  
Old 09-17-2007, 05:00 PM
  #8  
frank99
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Sheridan, AR
Posts: 810
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

[&:]i buy din din at taco bell if you come over and install mine nice job on your plane frank
Old 09-17-2007, 10:28 PM
  #9  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,068
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: rc 56 glue

I use a little dental syringe

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.