Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Edge gluing sheeting

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Edge gluing sheeting

Old 10-19-2007, 08:33 PM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Edge gluing sheeting

I am in the process of scratching a plane. The plans call for sheeting the fuselage with 1/16" balsa and the wing and tail surfaces with 1/32" balsa.

I have edge glued 1/16" balsa before with no problems, however I am a little concerned about the 1/32" balsa.
I have never tried edge glueing 1/32" before. I usually use either WATERPROOF Elmer's yellow glue or WATERPROOF TiteBond for edge gluing.

Due to the thickness, am I going to have a problem with a very stiff glue joint and/or separation of the glue joint when I wet the balsa down ?

If I am going to have a problem, can anyone suggest a better glue to use for the edge gluing (no CA please ).

Thanks
Old 10-19-2007, 09:33 PM
saramos

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Edge gluing sheeting

Check out Paul Johnson's website www.airfieldmodels.com He has a section on glues. As I recall, he uses Ambroid glue for edge gluing sheets. Primarily for it's ease of sanding. Personally, I like original Titebond glue over the waterproof Titebond.

Scott
Old 10-20-2007, 11:15 AM
Campy
My Feedback: (1)

The link works, HOWEVER, when you click on ANY of the articles you get, "This Document Contains No Data".
Old 10-20-2007, 12:08 PM
saramos

Try again, I just went to the site and was able to navigate without problem.

Scott
Old 10-20-2007, 12:13 PM
dbacque
My Feedback: (3)

Here's a link directly to the edge joining article. http://tinyurl.com/2j2sqh

Dave
Old 10-21-2007, 06:32 AM
bps
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts