Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Float Planes

Old 04-16-2003, 01:36 AM
clayfoushee

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Float Planes

I am fairly new to the hobby and currently am flying a Hangar 9 Xtra Easy and just assembled a 4* 60 ARF, which I just flew with my instructor for the first time last weekend.

In the hobby store today, I saw a Lanier Amphibian (60 series in US Coast Guard colors). I don't remember any other info about it, but my question is: does anyone have experience with this airplane? Is it any easy or hard flyer, etc.?

I live on the water and would love to eventually fly from my dock. Obviously, I have to get more proficient on the land airplanes first. But, I wonder if this would be a good building project for a 3rd airplane.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Clay
Old 04-16-2003, 01:56 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Float Planes

If you want a really great seaplane, try the Ace Seamaster. It is only available as an ARF now days, but if you search around, you may still find one of the old kits..

Here's a review of the ARF:

http://www.modelairplanenews.com/reviews/seamaster.asp
Old 04-16-2003, 02:41 PM
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Float Planes

I have found a few seamaster kits for people. They are a lot of fun. Expect to pay about $125 for a kit. Here is a link to another plane just about like it. I have one of these and it is good too. uglier than heck in the factor colors, but looks very nice in other colors. It is a Laker from Balsa USA and is a lot like the Seamaster.

http://www.balsausa.com/kits/kit.htp?id=27&shopperid=
Old 04-16-2003, 05:41 PM
clayfoushee

Default Float Planes