Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Beeping motor

Old 08-26-2008, 09:23 PM
  #1  
vicman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beeping motor

A week or two ago there was a thread about electric motor just beeping. I didn't look at it because I had not had that problem myself but it happened last night. Now I can't seem to find it. Can someone point me in the right direction please?

I'm putting togeather a World models Voodo that comes with the motor. When I hook everything up to test it out the motor just beeps and doesn't turn.

Thanks for your help.

Vic
Old 08-26-2008, 09:39 PM
  #2  
ChuckW
Senior Member
 
ChuckW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 5,165
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

It sounds like the ESC is trying to tell you something. The ESC instructions should tell you. This is just a guess but maybe the ESC thinks it is being powered up at full throttle and therefore not letting the motor go. Try reversing the throttle on your transmitter then following the arming procedure in the ESC instructions. Many have to be powered up at no throttle, pushed to full then pulled back again before it will arm.

Make sure you do all of this without a prop on the motor. In spite of knowing better, I figured this out the hard way.
Old 08-27-2008, 06:18 AM
  #3  
kid chuckles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: cando, MO
Posts: 926
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

I have had to do this also. Move the throttle stick very slowly up and there will be several beeps. Sounds like the reciever is not binding with the ESC. Or the motor part of it anyway. Just move it slowly it took a couple times on one motor to get it to respond to the reciever. Hope this helps you out. You may have already knew this if so and it didn't work [&o]
Old 08-27-2008, 12:35 PM
  #4  
vicman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

Thanks guys, I did reverse one wire to reverse the motor rotation but didn't try reversing the TX. When I get home I'll give it a try.

Just a test run with no prop...thanks for the safety notice though. They are important.
Old 08-27-2008, 02:45 PM
  #5  
erik valdez
My Feedback: (80)
 
erik valdez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: clute, TX
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

can anyone tell me how to figure out what speed controller i have. i remember buying it a few years ago but ive lost paper work i know it is made by castle creations but how many amps? it is just a small board wraped in clear heat shrink. thanks erik.
Old 08-27-2008, 02:48 PM
  #6  
vicman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

a picture might help
Old 08-27-2008, 03:18 PM
  #7  
erik valdez
My Feedback: (80)
 
erik valdez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: clute, TX
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

[img][/img]here are some pics
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr50033.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	1020616   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xs58789.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	1020617  
Old 08-27-2008, 03:35 PM
  #8  
BadSplice
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
BadSplice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Nevada City , CA
Posts: 602
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

I have one that looks like that, its a Castle Creations Pheonix-10.
Old 08-27-2008, 03:39 PM
  #9  
erik valdez
My Feedback: (80)
 
erik valdez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: clute, TX
Posts: 140
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Beeping motor

I have been flying this esc on an e-flite ultimate bipe with a park 370 outrunner and 910 mil 3cell pack. i just bought a park 400 is this esc sufficiant?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.