Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Trainer cord set-up

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Trainer cord set-up

Old 08-30-2008, 07:43 AM
  #1  
eddieA
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rochester, MA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trainer cord set-up

I am trying to set-up a trainer cord between a Futaba 6ex Transmitter and a Futaba Skysport 6h Transmitter, when I push the trainer button on the 6ex, the control surfaces go off center. What is the procedure for balancing both radios?

Thanks EA
Old 08-30-2008, 09:39 AM
  #2  
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 5,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Trainer cord set-up

You need to trim the buddy box using the trims on the buddy box. This needs to be done so that when you flip the switch, nothing moves on the plane. You will also want to check the servo reversing switches or programming on the buddy box as well, as they can be backwards. Good Luck, Dave
Old 08-30-2008, 11:11 AM
  #3  
eddieA
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rochester, MA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Trainer cord set-up

Thanks Dave , the problem I'm having is the control surfaces move too far beyond what I can adjust with the buddy box trim tabs, so i don't know if I have to re adjust all the linkages and try to get both transmitters balanced that way.
Old 08-30-2008, 11:29 AM
  #4  
Scar
My Feedback: (3)
 
Scar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Peoria Hts, Il. IL
Posts: 3,120
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Trainer cord set-up


ORIGINAL: eddieA

Thanks Dave , the problem I'm having is the control surfaces move too far beyond what I can adjust with the buddy box trim tabs, so i don't know if I have to re adjust all the linkages and try to get both transmitters balanced that way.
The "Centers" on your transmitter & student box don't match. If you can't adjust, send them in and get the centering adjusted to match.

Good luck,
Dave Olson
Old 08-30-2008, 03:48 PM
  #5  
TedMo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sun City Center, FL
Posts: 1,270
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Trainer cord set-up

It may be that you have used your trims on the master to center the servos.Put trims at neutral,check to see if servo output arms are at right angles to servo. If not remove arms, rotate them to get them that way; then adjust linkages. If now the buddy box still doesn't allow sufficient adjustment with it's trims something definitly wrong with that buddy box.
Old 08-30-2008, 03:57 PM
  #6  
mustangman177
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Cisne, IL
Posts: 747
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Trainer cord set-up

I too have a buddy box I use with a 7 channel Futaba UAF radio that I'm training a student to fly with
and had the trouble you're talking about. I fixed it by adjusting the control arm throws on the servos. Was more pronounced on the throttle servo.

Try adjusting the clevises on the plane and see if you can get the transmitters to match. If not, you'll be in trouble once in the air.

We had a good day flying and he's readly to solo with this type of training system. Wish I had this when I learned to fly !!!

Hope this helps

Cary

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.