Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Air Show Flying

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Air Show Flying

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2008, 07:57 AM
devil505
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Show Flying

Hi, I have been flying for a few years now mainly at local clubs and by my house. There are going to be a few airshows around me and am wondering how they work . Can I bring my plane there and fly? Do I have to be part of that club to fly? Do I have to register to fly? If anyone can give me some insite that would be great.
Old 09-07-2008, 08:49 AM
R8893
My Feedback: (20)

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Default RE: Air Show Flying

Why don't you contact the club and ask?

If the organization is a recognized AMA Air Show Team you will not be able to fly unless you have all the Air Show Team Member credentials. My club does a big model airshow each year (48th annual just completed) and we did become an AMA airshow Team for a couple years to enhance our insurance coverage. But the program changed and we opted out.

Safety is a primary concern for any public display. We pre-qualify all pilots in our show and inspect the models. We used to do this safety vetting (hey a new word I learned this week from the media!) the morning of the show for guys from other clubs. We now do the show from a full-size airport and no longer have a time slot for this, so our show is limited to club members and a small number of invited guests who have widely recognized demonstration flying skills.

On the other hand I have seen posts here on RCU where the guy organizing the show was pleading for help.

I really enjoy the airshow and it both brings the club members together and presents the hobby to the public in a positive way. Good luck hooking up with people doing thisyou're likely to enjoy it.