Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Amp Draw?

Old 09-08-2008, 12:11 PM
greigmckean1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Amp Draw?

Right guys need your help!

Im really confused. Im new to the whole electric thing and I have a question.

Say I have an aircraft that requires 40 amp maximum power. So I have a Motor and ESC that can withstand 40 amps maximum. The problem I have is my LiPo. For talking sake say I have a 3000 Mah with a 20C discharge. That LiPo can produce a maximum of 60 amps. This is too powerful for my system and could damage my Motor and ESC. How do I limit my power so that I dont damage my gear? The maxiumum discharge I want to draw from the LiPo is just over 13C which will give me around 40 amps (3x13=39amps). How do I do that so when Im flying I know that I wont go over 13C? Can you limit the power to this discharge? Can you set up your Transmitter (throttle stick) so you dont use too many amps? As you can probally tell I know nothing about electrics so there is probally a very easy answer. Go easy on me guys!
Old 09-08-2008, 01:28 PM
dignlivn

Default RE: Amp Draw?

You may want to get a Watts Up Meter to help
determine how many Amps you are pulling at
WOT. A larger than needed ESC is what I use.
Larger as in Amps capability. The Motor determines
how much Amperage is needed at full throttle.
Your Lipo will supply the Amperage that the motor
draws according to your Stick position.

My Electric trainer drew 29 amps at WOT. I had
a 45 amp ESC and a 4s 3200 mAh lipo,which could
provided up to 96 Amps continous. With more Amps
at 5 second burst. Which my motor could not draw,
since it drew 29 at full throttle. Hope that make sence,

Bob
Old 09-08-2008, 01:37 PM
JohnW
My Feedback: (6)