Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Advice on ducting/baffling

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Advice on ducting/baffling

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2008, 03:41 PM
chris-s

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice on ducting/baffling

I've done a lot of reading on baffles and ducting, but since this is my first attempt at this I feel I need some pointers over installing some cooling ducting for the engine on my latest build. It's a Pitts S12 with a ZDZ40 motor in the radial cowl and an in-fusalage silencer can. The acquired the model part completed with the engine and silencer already mounted, and the chin scoop in the cowl already cut.

The cylinder head is below the lower edge of the opening so I'm having to direct the air down and then over the fins. Using some liteply, this is what I came up with so far (I dug out a scrappy 80mm spinner to see how much hole it covers up)...

I think I might extend the lower edges down a little so they can be glassed into the insides of the scoop, but should I do anything to direct the air out of the cowl?

Would it be worth putting a 'lip' at the front edge of the scoop hole? I actually wondered whether it would be worth extending the sides of what remains of the scoop forward to encompas the section which has been cut infront of it?

What about directing any air around the back of the engine or closer to the fins on the very top of the engine?

You will see that the exhaust manifold goes thru a large hole in the firewall, it does not need to be this large, I can only assume it was cut like this to allow air to pass into the fus and exit the rear (thru non-existant holes) to remove heat from the exhaust, does that sound right?