Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Old 09-15-2008, 06:06 PM
  #1  
Paul Cobb
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Metamora, IL
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane applicaiton.

Anyone have experience programming the 7 channel 2.4 GHz radio using this Gyro in an airplane application. I can program it in the Heli mode, but can not find a way to control the Gyro in the airplane mode. I want to control the rudder an be able to shut off the gyro when necessary. Called Futaba but have yet to get an answer.

Paul Cobb
Old 09-15-2008, 08:52 PM
  #2  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,855
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

why do you want a gyro on the rudder of an airplane? Is the design of your aircraft so unstable that it is required? seems like trim would be enough....not being a smart a**...I really want to know
Old 09-15-2008, 08:54 PM
  #3  
[]TEX[]
 
[]TEX[]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 9,963
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Set up your airplane in heli mode, then you can use the Gyro.

I'm serious BTW.

You can do it in HR1 mode.
Old 09-16-2008, 03:47 PM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,328
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Assign the channel that the gain is plugged into to a switch.

Set the gain by setting the end points of that switch. One side will be heading hold, one will be rate mode. You don't want to "turn it off" but instead set one side of the switch to a very low value in rate mode, 5 percent or so. It will be obvious which way is heading hold because the rudder won't return to center.

If you're trying to hover you can play with heading hold. If you're trying to straighten out takeoff rolls I suggest using rate mode.
Old 09-16-2008, 05:59 PM
  #5  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,385
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Futaba GY401 gyro in airplane application

Jet, I have seen several giant scale Bipes that ended up requiring a gyro on the rudder for take off. The Fleet is A good example that needed A lot of help holding A heading on the ground. If needed use one.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.