Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Retract Servo??

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Retract Servo??

Old 09-16-2008, 03:53 AM
  #1  
greigmckean1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Retract Servo??

Can you use a standard servo as a retract servo? Or does it have to be a designated retract servo?
Old 09-16-2008, 06:16 AM
  #2  
DavidAgar
My Feedback: (107)
 
DavidAgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 5,045
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

It is best to use a retract servo. They have more torque and they shut off at the end of each cycle. They also have more throw than a regular servo, which is what you will need to make the gear retract correctly. Good Luck, Dave
Old 09-16-2008, 10:23 PM
  #3  
sebo
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL FL
Posts: 2,250
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

If you use a regular servo you will drain your battery so fast that you may be lucky to get only one flight in.....ask me how I know.
Old 09-16-2008, 11:51 PM
  #4  
greigmckean1
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

Im using it for an electric setup so would I get away with it because I will be using a fresh battery for each flight anyway? Can you get micro retract servos?
Old 09-17-2008, 01:43 AM
  #5  
sebo
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL FL
Posts: 2,250
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

I don't know anything about micro stuff. Sorry.
Sebo
Old 09-17-2008, 01:49 AM
  #6  
sebo
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Jacksonville, FL FL
Posts: 2,250
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

Listen to what David Agar says. He is absolutely correct. Use a retract servo for retracts.
It just may save you an aircraft.
You may be inviting problems.
A servo is less expensive than a plane.
Have you ever seen one fly away after it was airborn?
Fascinating!!!
sebo
Old 09-17-2008, 04:49 AM
  #7  
Don M.
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Don M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Halifax, NS, CANADA
Posts: 1,848
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Retract Servo??

I'm going to go completely against the grain here. Years ago I had a GP F-14 Tomcat and used 2 Futaba 9202 servos for the retracts ( 2 on 1 servo and 1 on the other ) I flew it 100's of flights and am still using those servos somewhere. I just happen to be building another F-14 as we speak and yup I'm using 2 regular HT servos. Just make sure they don't bind.

My reason for using them was not to be cheap but because the throw of the standard servos suited my application much better.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.