Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Magnum .91 4-stroke starting problems

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Magnum .91 4-stroke starting problems

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2009, 09:22 PM
rustler555
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnum .91 4-stroke starting problems

I just purchased an airplane with a magnum .91 4-stroke, This is the first 4-stroke glow engine that i have owned. I have been working with engines for 12 years now ,and I learn something new every day. I have just been trying to flip start the plane, but when i do, it kicks back and seems to run in reverse. it has started in the right direction, but it would rather start in reverse. I know this is common with 2-strokes, but I have never known a 4-stroke could do this. Is this a valve clearance problem, or something else?Also, what is the valve clearance for this engine? Any Information would be appreciated. Thanks
Old 08-29-2009, 10:15 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Magnum .91 4-stroke starting problems

Be careful hand starting it. A 4-stroke can backfire, especially when lean and throw the prop or do some damage to your hand. Not sure on the exact valve clearance for the Magnum but .002"-.004" would likely work.
Old 08-29-2009, 11:14 PM
TFF

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I love the engine but it is not a good engine to hand start. Dont know why, but it has a couple of threads and and the consensus is use a starter.
Old 08-29-2009, 11:31 PM
alfredbmor

The gap is .04 mm
IMHO I would suggest to use an electric starter by now, as you become more familiar with the engine and it gets some time running (about 1 full gallon), the you may experience the hand starting.