Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Servo Torque

Old 03-08-2010, 09:18 AM
  #1  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Torque

Hello my wonderful RC family! I was wondering if anyone could recommend a minimum toque rating for a nose-wheel servo when used in a pull-pull cable steering setup. The plane should weigh around 12 to 14 lbs approximately and be a trike configuration. Retract is Robart 710RS with a trailing link strut (haven't decided on mfg yet)... and nose wheel diameter will either be 2-1/4" or 2-1/2". Also, will be taking off and landing on relatively smooth grass strip.
Old 03-08-2010, 09:47 AM
  #2  
P-Y
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
P-Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MINSK, BELARUS
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

The torque requested depends of your runway.
A grass' runway require more torque than a concrete one.
Anyway, I would say that any high torque servo would do the job.
Old 03-08-2010, 10:35 AM
  #3  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

yep, it's a grass strip... by high torque, do you mean 60 oz-in, 80, 100, or what?
Old 03-08-2010, 01:41 PM
  #4  
P-Y
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
P-Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MINSK, BELARUS
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

I use a 100oz/in on one of my plane, but around 70 should probably be enough.
Old 03-08-2010, 03:03 PM
  #5  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

by the way... are you using air-up/air-down, or air-up/spring down on the plane?
Old 03-08-2010, 03:07 PM
  #6  
mandtra
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: clermont, GA
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

if it were mine i would go with a metal gear servo , in the grass and landing in a crosswind there will be a lot of stress on the front wheel you can get a HD 1501 for around $ 18.00 from TBM or plane addicts ,
Old 03-08-2010, 04:02 PM
  #7  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

Wow! I just checked planeaddicts... 215 oz-in for $18.00?!?! I hate to ask but is there a catch?
Old 03-08-2010, 04:07 PM
  #8  
mandtra
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: clermont, GA
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

there are probably 50 of those servos at our flying field in everything from a 40 size to a 35% IMO there the best off brand avail. As always ***buy the best you can afford*** but those will do a fine job IMO
Old 03-08-2010, 05:00 PM
  #9  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

Actually, in your instance torque is not that great. You need to use metal gears with a ball bearing out put. Anything around 50 oz/in would be adequate.
Old 03-08-2010, 05:16 PM
  #10  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

gotcha. Now as for the steering cables, is there a good tecnique for getting the tension just right? The 710RS is spring-down and as I understand it, if there is too much tension on the cables, the gear may not lock in the down position, and of course if it is too loose, it will look like the pilot spent too much time with his ole pal Samuel Adams!
Old 03-09-2010, 12:25 AM
  #11  
mandtra
Senior Member
My Feedback: (29)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: clermont, GA
Posts: 344
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

I dont know what your talking about HD 1501's have 234 oz at 6v
Old 03-09-2010, 08:38 AM
  #12  
mduslick
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo Torque

From website:
>>>"Power HD -1501 MG OUT OF STOCK
HD-1501MG 236 oz analog servo with universal connector.

-Uses ONLY MPI FUTABA arms.

-Operating Speed: 0.16/0.14 sec/60°
-Stall Torque: 215oz-in. at 4.8v, 236 oz-in. at 6.0v
-Dimensions: 40.7x20.5x39.5 mm
-Weight: 60(g)
-Operating Voltage: 4.8/6.0"

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.