Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Old 03-11-2010, 02:19 PM
  #1  
DeferredDefect
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
DeferredDefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Hello!

I recently finished rebuilding a Tiger 60, but modified the original to have the elevator and rudder servos mounted in the tail. This requires two servo extensions, but I have none on hand.
Being impatiant, is it possible to hook up a Y harness in place of the lead, using just two of the three plugs?I understand it will reverse the servo on one side, but will it cause interference, battery drain, etc?

Thank you

Graeme
Old 03-11-2010, 02:44 PM
  #2  
P-Y
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
P-Y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MINSK, BELARUS
Posts: 205
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Hey,
yes it's possible. It won't cause any troubles.
Old 03-11-2010, 07:46 PM
  #3  
DeferredDefect
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
DeferredDefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Thanks for the quick reply!
Okay then - Tiger 60 is ready to go!

Graeme
Old 03-11-2010, 08:36 PM
  #4  
Crash Campbell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Port MacquarieNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 521
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Hi Graeme,

Yes it will work however it introduces another potential source of failiure. Having once lost a model to a dodgey "Y" lead I now never use them or extensions. It is very easy to solder servo wire extensions to the servo and you never have to worry about the connectors corroding. In the same manner it is so easy to use a second Rx connection as a slave when running a servo on each elevator half or the like. Just my two cents worth but remember Murphey's law.

Cheers,

Colin
Old 03-11-2010, 10:25 PM
  #5  
DeferredDefect
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
DeferredDefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Thanks Crash -

Having already sealed up the fuselage, I can't really change it, but I'll note it as something to replace if I need to open the plane up, such as a crash caused by a failed Y-Harness used as a servo extension! \

Graeme
Old 03-12-2010, 06:58 AM
  #6  
airbusdrvr
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Port Richey, FL
Posts: 2,568
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Just use some dental floss and tie the two connectors together if there is a concern that they would come apart.
Old 03-12-2010, 05:03 PM
  #7  
Tall Paul
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Palmdale, CA
Posts: 5,211
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?


ORIGINAL: GraemeEllis

Hello!

I recently finished rebuilding a Tiger 60, but modified the original to have the elevator and rudder servos mounted in the tail. This requires two servo extensions, but I have none on hand.
Being impatiant, is it possible to hook up a Y harness in place of the lead, using just two of the three plugs? I understand it will reverse the servo on one side, but will it cause interference, battery drain, etc?

Thank you

Graeme
.
An ordinary Y-harness will not reverse either servo direction. That requires a Y-harness purpose with a reversing circuit.
Just support any extensions so they can't self-disconnect in flight.
Old 03-12-2010, 05:32 PM
  #8  
Crash Campbell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Port MacquarieNew South Wales, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 521
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Hi All,

Just a bit more info on extensions and "Y" leads from personal experience. Like I stated earlier in this thread I lost a model through "dodgey" connections on a "Y" lead and eventually cured strange aileron jitters in another model when I replaced a servo extension lead. In neither of these cases did the conncetion come loose but they corroded to the point that electrical conductivity was compromised. A process of elemination checking all connections and switches revealed the extension connector and or the "Y" lead connector to be the culprit. In both cases these were models that were over five years old and the connections had only been used the once when the model was built. If they had been plugged and unplugged regularly there probably wouldn't have been a problem. I live in an area of very high summer temperatures and high humidity close to the coast so corrosion is probably more of an issue than in less humid and salt laden conditions.

Now when I need to extend a servo lead I cut the connector off and solder in a length of high quality twisted servo wire to the length required and then resolder the original gold plug back on. The joints are insulated with heat shrink tubing and supported by silicon rubber binding tape. I have been using this method for many years and have yet to experience a failure. Switches well.........thats another saga.

Cheers,

Colin
Old 03-12-2010, 10:52 PM
  #9  
DeferredDefect
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
DeferredDefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 974
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Thanks again for all of the replies - very helpful.

I taped the connections together where I would not have access to them, and wrapped and tied the spare connector as suggested above.

Graeme
Old 03-12-2010, 11:00 PM
  #10  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,037
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default RE: Y Harness as a Lead Extension?

Are the servos removable? Get the right extension if it is, you can get them on ebay for about 2 bucks each. Then take the servos out, hook the new ones to the old ones, pull them through, and connect them to the servos. You can get by with the Y for now, but get the right ones coming and do it right as soon as you get them. Then you don't ever have to worry about it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.