Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Futaba servo ? / NIMH Battery???

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Futaba servo ? / NIMH Battery???

Old 03-20-2010, 01:28 PM
  #1  
ES CONTROL
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narvon, PA
Posts: 589
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba servo ? / NIMH Battery???

I have a 6 volt NiMh hooked up to a Futaba S3010 servo.
Why does the box it came it say Ni-Cd use only???

Old 03-20-2010, 03:21 PM
  #2  
landeck
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA GA
Posts: 1,710
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Futaba servo ? / NIMH Battery???

I would guess because NiMh were not in common use when the S3010 was first released. I have used them with NiMh batteries without problem.

Bruce
Old 03-21-2010, 08:27 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 24,339
Received 67 Likes on 56 Posts
Default RE: Futaba servo ? / NIMH Battery???

The first generation of NiMH couldn't deliver the amps because they had a high internal resistance. Thats when that warning was written.

Modern quality cells don't have that problem.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.