Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

How to Test servos

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

How to Test servos

Old 04-03-2010, 10:23 AM
  #1  
trpastor
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 824
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to Test servos

How do you go about doing good testing of servos (torque speed etc)? so that you can find out thier true specs?
Thanks
Tim
Old 04-03-2010, 03:17 PM
  #2  
Lnewqban
 
Lnewqban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,056
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to Test servos

Tim,

I would use a pulley and string and weight, as represented in schematic.

Torque (in-oz) = Radius around which the string wraps (in) x Weight (oz)

Max torque will happen at stall condition (the weight does not move or it does it very slowly).

Now, to test specification's rotational speed ( x sec/60°), you can use the same layout plus the vertical scale and a stopwatch.
Just measure the time it takes to move the weight for the distance correspondent to 60 degrees ((Perimeter x 60) / 360).

Distance = (Radius around which the string wraps (in) x 3.1416) / 3

For more accurate time measurement, a longer radius is better.

I am not sure under what load that specified velocity should be measured.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd93192.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	12.9 KB
ID:	1410983  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.