Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

My next radio - what do you recommend?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

My next radio - what do you recommend?

Old 04-05-2010, 09:22 AM
mickvk
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My next radio - what do you recommend?

I have a Spektrum DX7 and I'm surprised that I need more channels. I thought flaps and ailerons would be one each, but to program them as flaperons it requires all four surfaces to be on independent channels. So I looked at the radio market and it's a little confusing. Can you check these perceptions that I have and give me your suggestion on what my next radio should be?
    [*]Spektrum's menus don't seem very intuitive. Maybe it's because I'm new at this. Does anybody else do it better?[*]I've heard that Futaba is the leader in things like signal reliability and low-receiver-voltage handling.[*]Do cheap add on modules like the Corona work well? These $100+ receivers are hard to stock up on.[*]Do cheap radio systems like the Xtreme Power Systems from Graupner work well?[*]I probably need 12 channels... I can see flaperons, gear, and a parachute drop... That's nine already.[/list]Thanks for any recommendations you can give me. -Mick
Old 04-05-2010, 09:36 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: My next radio - what do you recommend?

If you have separate flaps and ailerons, use separate flaps and ailerons. Do NOT use flapperons. Flapperons seem like the best of both worlds, but in reality, they are the worst of both worlds.

Inboard (Where the flaps are) ailerons do little if anything, and outboard (Where the ailerons work best) Flaps can be dangerous and lead to a tip stall.

Bottom line: Use ailerons for ailerons and flaps for flaps - They will BOTH work better and you won't need a new radio.
Old 04-05-2010, 10:38 AM
Wolflord