Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Airplane starter amps.

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Airplane starter amps.

Old 04-07-2010, 07:35 AM
  #1  
porthole200
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: putnam, CT
Posts: 73
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Airplane starter amps.

I don't know if this is the right place to ask my question, but here goes. I have a Ford Windstar minivan that has a power outlet in the back of the van. It is a cigarette lighter plug looking outlet. When I am at the field flying. I have my tailgate raised and am never very far from the back of my van. I would like to know if , after securing the right power plug for my starter, I could plug my tower hobbies starter into this plug instead of using my 7 amp starter battery. It seems like I am always charging this small battery. The outlet is fused for 20 amps. Can I safely use this power source to start my planes, or will I blow fuses. Will my starter draw more than 20 amps starting a 60 sized engine?
Old 04-07-2010, 08:04 AM
  #2  
Bonified Wingnut
 
Bonified Wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Millington, MI
Posts: 732
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane starter amps.

Wire a 20 amp fuse inline with your starter and your regular battery. Use it for awhile and if it does not blow you have your answer. But you might want to try a 15 amp also to see how much margin of safety you have because your car battery will probably maintain a higher voltage.-BW
Old 04-07-2010, 08:18 AM
  #3  
crossman
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 536
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane starter amps.

I put an ammeter on my starter once. With out any drag it drew about 6 amps. However, when I gripped the cone to put some load on it, it jumped up to almost 30 amps. I everything is working right, you may be fine, but if you have a stubborn engine, you have problems. I would definitely want heavy wire in the extension (to prevent voltage drop) and an in-line fuse. I would probably use a fuse slightly less than 20 amps. That way, if one blows, it's the one in the cord, not the one that you have to hunt for under the hood or under the dash.
Old 04-07-2010, 09:48 AM
  #4  
KW_Counter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Lake County, CA
Posts: 1,555
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane starter amps.

Porthole,
Your idea will work.
However, I think the better idea is using that outlet
to plug in your charger and topping off your starter
battery on the way to the field.
Good Luck,
KW_Counter
Old 04-07-2010, 10:03 AM
  #5  
Bonified Wingnut
 
Bonified Wingnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Millington, MI
Posts: 732
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane starter amps.


ORIGINAL: KW_Counter

Porthole,
Your idea will work.
However, I think the better idea is using that outlet
to plug in your charger and topping off your starter
battery on the way to the field.
Good Luck,
KW_Counter
I second that one.-BW
Old 04-07-2010, 03:06 PM
  #6  
porthole200
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: putnam, CT
Posts: 73
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Airplane starter amps.

Got some new ideas from you folks. Ideas I never thought of. Love this forum!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.