Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Micro Receiver

Old 04-15-2010, 07:56 PM
  #1  
baddley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Micro Receiver

Hi


I have a Futaba T7CAP transmitter that has been set for ch 13 from Futaba. The question i have is it safe to run it on channel 38. I have heard mixed input on my dilemma.


The reason i am doing this is becuause i have a Futaba R114 micro receiver that is set up for high channels and i cant use channel 13 like i normally due.


IS IT SAFE FOR ME TO RUN MY TRANSMITTER ON THIS CHANNEL ?

Any help would be appreciated !



Thanks Scott
Old 04-15-2010, 08:14 PM
  #2  
Steve Percifield
My Feedback: (14)
 
Steve Percifield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Noblesville, IN
Posts: 1,503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver

If this is a module transmitter, and you have a channel 38 module, then teh answer is yes.

You didn'd indicate how you intend to get it to channel 38???

It would be easier to put a channel 13 crystal in the receiver.
Old 04-15-2010, 08:58 PM
  #3  
baddley
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem, WV
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver

Hi

I am not sure what u mean by a module transmitter. The transmitter I am using is a T7CAP and it just has the thing in the back were you put the crystals in.

I just put a channel 38 crystal in my transmitter instead of the # 13 crystal I normally use and it worked.


I tried to change the crystal in my receiver but when u buy the receiver you can choose from LO or HIGH. Unfortunatelly i bought the receiver off of someone else i didn't realize it was the wrong one.


Thanks Scott
Old 04-15-2010, 09:18 PM
  #4  
huck1199
Senior Member
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver

It is illeagle to change your tx freq unless you are a certified tech.
Old 04-15-2010, 09:47 PM
  #5  
Gray Beard
My Feedback: (-1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hemderson, NV
Posts: 14,385
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver


ORIGINAL: huck1199

It is illeagle to change your tx freq unless you are a certified tech.
Not if the TX is a module type. If I want to pay the 100+ bucks per module it's not a problem changing it.
Old 04-15-2010, 10:47 PM
  #6  
huck1199
Senior Member
 
huck1199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lancaster, NY
Posts: 1,550
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver

It did not sound like a module type. He said he just put the crystal in.
Old 04-16-2010, 07:30 AM
  #7  
jester_s1
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 7,069
Likes: 0
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Default RE: Micro Receiver

If you swap transmitter crystals, you have to retune the transmitter. Otherwise you risk losing range and (worse) interfereing with an adjacent channel. You might do the switch and get away with it, and you might not. In any event, it's illegal to switch TX crystals because of that unless you are certified to do so. You'll be better off buying another reciever, especially since 72mhz stuff is going so cheap these days.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.