Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Requesting Advice: Propeller-Powered Skateboard (Mech. Eng. Undergrad Design Project)

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Requesting Advice: Propeller-Powered Skateboard (Mech. Eng. Undergrad Design Project)

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2010, 11:13 PM
The Steam Punk

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Requesting Advice: Propeller-Powered Skateboard (Mech. Eng. Undergrad Design Project)

(I hope this is in the right forum; if it's not, can a mod please stick it where it belongs?)

(Also, apologies in advance for the long post!)

Greetings, everyone; as you can see, I'm new here. I joined this forum in order to ask about what is, as the title indicates, a rather different use for a model aircraft engine.

First, a little background: My name is Andrew, and I am a senior-year Mechanical Engineering undergraduate at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. As part of our curriculum, each student is required to complete a Machine Design course, in which we work either together or in teams to build personal transportation devices; essentially, small one-person vehicles. Then, at the end of the semester, the completion of the project is celebrated with a big race, in which your vehicle's performance is analyzed to determine a portion of your final score, so speed, weight, and power are key.