Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Bad Experience with Hangar 9 RTF - Need Advice

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Bad Experience with Hangar 9 RTF - Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2010, 08:39 AM
nd23rin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Bad Experience with Hangar 9 RTF - Need Advice

Hi All-

I am a newbie to this hobby, which has completely captivated and hooked me already, however I have had some trouble with my first plane (Hangar 9 Mustang PTS MkII.) Since assembling it, I have been to the AMAclub I joined about 6-7 times and have only been able to fly a total of 4 flights due to problems which have cost me a lot of money, and really had nothing to do with my own crappy flying.

This weekend was the kicker though. The evolution engine still had the original glow plug in it, and upon trying to start the plane I noticed what appeared to be some fuel leaking from it. I removed the plug, or actually my instructor did, only to find that it was very loose because the threads on the inside of the head were completely stripped. It almost appeared that it had been cross threaded, which would have had to have happened at the factory since it was still the original glow plug. In addition to this, the carb was constantly coming loose and on my first flight the retainer screw came out as well. On the recommendation of numerous guys at the club I decided to take the opportunity to just upgrade to an OS55AX....since I got a good deal on it, I didn't feel too bad!