Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

"Spring Air Retracts" Won't Retract

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

"Spring Air Retracts" Won't Retract

Old 08-08-2010, 04:55 PM
flycatch
My Feedback: (26)

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default "Spring Air Retracts" Won't Retract

I'm new to retracts and just finished installing a set of 700 series "Spring Air". The down lock mechanism releases but the gear will not retract. Air is getting to the cyclinders since they are spongy to the touch. They behave like there is not enough air pressure to extend the pistons. I'm using an electric air compressor to fill the air tank and the pressure gauge maxiumizes at 80 psi. I check for air leaks and found none. When I release air pressure to gear does lock due to being spring loaded. I'm using vendor structs that are overall in length 6.5" and a set of ROBART wheels 3.75" diameter. Can it be the weight of the strut wheel assembly or have I overlooked something obivous. I looking for some advice to resolve this issue.
Old 08-08-2010, 11:03 PM
gsoav8r
My Feedback: (6)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE:

Hi,
All air retracts, that Ive had, are designed to handle 100 psi, about 110 max. Spring Air, Robart and a knock off set.
80psi is only 80% of the force the pistons are capable of making.

With the Spring Airs the air pressure has to overcome the force of the springs too. Not just the weight of the strut and tire.

Having said that, its my guess that the pump isnt working very well for some reason. Like maybe its not efficient past a certian point and producing a true 80psi? IMO a true 80psi charge should cycle the gear once or twice at least.

Cheers,
James
Old 08-08-2010, 11:16 PM
flycatch

Default RE: RE: