Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Prop Balancing Question

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Prop Balancing Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2010, 10:53 AM
R-Duhb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Prop Balancing Question

I have a wooden 11x7 Master Airscrew prop that isheavy on one side. I'll sand down the heavy end to get it to balance, but I'm curious if there is a rule of thumb method for sanding a prop.

Thanks!!

Old 08-24-2010, 10:58 AM
Dr1Driver

Default RE: Prop Balancing Question

Don't sand it. My preferred method of balancing a wooden prop is to spray light coats of clear poly-u on the front of the light blade. Unless it's drastically OOB, one or two coats will do it. Sanding the prop may cut through the thin coat of varnish, leaving the prop exposed to the elements, dirt, and fuel.
Old 08-24-2010, 11:02 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

If it's a Master Airscrew, you will need to remove the mold flashing from around the edges. This is where the two halves of the mold came together and there will be a very sharp edge that you will want to remove by scraping a knife or razor along the edge (Note, use a scraping motion, not a cutting motion)

Once you have done that, you can re-balance it and just scrape a little more off the trailing edge of the heavy side - although to tell the truth, many pilots (including myself) don't even bother balancing props that small
Old 08-24-2010, 11:14 AM
vpresley
My Feedback: (162)

Minn

Think he said it was wood. I would go ahead and sand. Should not take much. Sand the front side evenly and lightly until it balances. Try not to change the shape of the prop.

Vince
Old 08-24-2010, 11:31 AM
big max 1935
My Feedback: (9)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post