Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Dual receiver battery?

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Dual receiver battery?

Old 08-24-2010, 01:10 PM
  #1  
ZachB10
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dual receiver battery?

Just wondering the best way to use 2 battery packs on one Futaba R617FS receiver. Iwould like to use (2) 2000mah nimh packs, what is the best way to connect both to the receiver? Thanks in advance.

Old 08-24-2010, 01:18 PM
  #2  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 27,258
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Dual receiver battery?



You bet. The best way to set up is two seperate batteries running through 2 switchs and then plug each one into a seperate channel on the receiver. By doing this way you get complete redundancy in the case of a failure of any component (battery or switch). If you don't have enough open channels on the receiver you can use a Y-harness and plug the battery into one side and the servo lead into the other side.

Ken

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51551.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	94.9 KB
ID:	1489613  
Old 08-24-2010, 01:19 PM
  #3  
ZachB10
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual receiver battery?

Thanks for the reply! The receiver is rated to 6v, and only has one battery port (ch 7 is marked 7/B). So I could use a Yharness and plug into any other channel even though it's not marked, and this won't short / fry the receiver?

Z
Old 08-24-2010, 01:24 PM
  #4  
DadsToysBG
My Feedback: (35)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 2,497
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Dual receiver battery?

All receivers have a common power buss. any open port will do. If all the ports are used then a Y is all you need. Dennis
Old 08-24-2010, 01:25 PM
  #5  
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)
 
RCKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 27,258
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Dual receiver battery?



What DadsToyBG said.

Ken


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.