RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Is this really necessary? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/11529523-really-necessary.html)

PACKERBACKER 05-31-2013 07:10 PM

Is this really necessary?

I recently moved to attend college & intended to continue flying so I don't get out of practice. I found a local group of modelers & went through some formalities but now they want me to fly with an instructor for 2 weeks to verify that I'm a safe pilot. I'm 22, been in the hobby for 5 going on 6 years & have flown everything from a giant scale Yak to a Piper Cub. I informed them that I was experienced & listed what I've owned & flown, yet they still at the end said I'd have to go through this process. Are there AMA regulations about this? There is a strip nearby that is seasonally used by cropdusters...does this affect anything? I don't know that I'll give up on this club but I am a bit resentful that my experience isn't credible.

countilaw 05-31-2013 07:37 PM

RE: Is this really necessary?

As the Club Safety Officer for my club, we have rules designed to maintain the safety of others. They may and probably don't have any doubt with your credibility or your flying skills. It's just a rule where they can observe a new pilot not only in the air, but in the pit area as well. A method of instructing all NEW member as to their rules and the way they do things at the field.

Don't take offense in their method, but comply and follow the rules. Once you have demonstrated your ability and safety awareness, they will respect you in greater detail than before and you will be welcomed as one of the group.

The other aspect of the rule is that everyone has to go through it. And if they break the rule for you, they will have to break it for others.