RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Is it a bad idea to...... (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/11588791-bad-idea.html)

jetmech05 10-23-2013 06:06 AM

Is it a bad idea to......

I've been flying for several years and have always thought or it was alluded to that it is "bad" to run the engine with the wings stab or canopy/hatch removed.
so as I sit here in the man cave looking at my 40% Sukhoi I wonder if this is true the canopy is plastic the wings and stab bolt to the fuselage. So they don't add to the structure strength. What do ya all think

vasek 10-23-2013 06:20 AM

I think it's bad BC the oil residue will seep in open areas. IMO

raptureboy 10-23-2013 06:27 AM

More parts attached to absorb the vibration of the engine and not just the fuselage.

Lone Star Charles 10-23-2013 08:05 AM

I have run the engine without wings, etc. many times without any problems. I do get concerned about getting trash inside the fuselage, but that is about all. As long as I can secure the fuselage so that it can't run away I don't see a problem.

foodstick 10-23-2013 09:43 AM

Some planes will visually shake so bad its obvious its harmful. That doesn't mean yours will..but if you have ever seen a plane that does shake !!!! you won't soon forget it ! hahaha

JohnBuckner 10-23-2013 12:07 PM

OK let me first report on what I know from running for three years, two races a year what I called the 'Wingless Trainer' races. These were anything up to around .60 size that could taxi without a wing and included conventional trainers, all manner of sticks and all types of landing gear. These were very popular races and well attended and yes I know they are smaller airplanes and not giant scale.

Most of the racers, raced open with no added covering over the wing saddles. I and a few others did fabricate some fairings simply because it looked cooler.