RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   dual trottle servos (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/5376877-dual-trottle-servos.html)

BALSABRO 02-05-2007 09:51 PM

dual trottle servos

ok I have never used a twin engine setup before and have questions

I have two servo connected to a Y harness and both servos move the right direction------- one servo has more throw than the other is there a way to get these equal??????

Geistware 02-05-2007 10:03 PM

RE: dual trottle servos

If they are the same brand servo then one of the servos is bad.
Either replace the bad one or send it in for service.

ORIGINAL: crazieflyer

ok I have never used a twin engine setup before and have questions

I have two servo connected to a Y harness and both servos move the right direction------- one servo has more throw than the other is there a way to get these equal??????

2slow2matter 02-05-2007 10:12 PM

They need to be the exact same servo on both sides. Then, options are--put them on separate channels and mix them in the radio, or use something similar to a matchbox from JR.

Mechanically, are the set up the same? (i.e. same hole at servo and same hole at carb?)

JohnBuckner 02-06-2007 12:02 AM

There is nothing wrong with setting up a twin with two throttle servos on a Y cord. In fact it is the most commonly used setup. I currently have three twins set up with Y cords, One Quad with a four way Y and currently working on a six pack with two three way Y's.

Like Geistware said if your matched brand and type servos are not traveling the same distance then one if faulty. Check that you are using the same length horns on the servos and engines. On the servo when Y cording the engines install an EZ just and make it accessable for matching throttle openings.

John

2slow2matter 02-06-2007 08:37 AM