RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   gaps between control surfaces (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/5448513-gaps-between-control-surfaces.html)

mbilar1 02-20-2007 05:46 PM

gaps between control surfaces

I bought an old but flying Thunder Tiger Skylark 40 trainer. I am a newbie. This winter I completely stripped and re-covered the plane with Ultracoat, and made new slightly larger ailerons and elevators.

My question is, because I was struggling with the hinges and the CA drying, instead of a snug fit of the ailerons against the wing and the elevotor to the stabilizer, there is a gap ranging from one-sixteenth to one-eghth inch between the moving surface and the wing/horiz. stab.

Will this be OK? I thought I read somewhere if air can move through the gap it will cause flutter, but I thought flutter was caused by something else.

I would have to cut the hinges and start over if it has to be tighter.

Montague 02-20-2007 05:51 PM

RE: gaps between control surfaces

I've seen planes fly with some pretty huge gaps. Sometimes it's ok, and it's not like the world will end. However, you are better off cutting off the hinges and doing it again.

While you may or may not have flutter, there are several other problems that will occur with big hinge gaps.

First, the controls will not be as effective as they would be with smaller or even sealed hinge gaps.