RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   Am I making a Covering Blunder? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/5494198-am-i-making-covering-blunder.html)

mclina 03-01-2007 02:28 PM

Am I making a Covering Blunder?

1 Attachment(s)
I am a newbie, in the midst of building a Four Star 40. In playing around with covering schemes, I had decided I really like the looks of the GP Stiks, with the maltese crosses, and thought I would use this scheme on my Four Star.

I just searched the archives and read some threads about the controversy surrounding these markings. Since I am not doing an authentic scale plane, would I be a complete idiot for covering my plane this way?

I still have a ways to go before I start covering, so it is not too late to change horses. I'd only be out the $10 I spent on the decals. I'll use the red Monocote either way.

Thanks

exeter_acres 03-01-2007 03:02 PM

RE: Am I making a Covering Blunder?

it is your plane.......

I don't see what people get upset about.....

mclina 03-01-2007 03:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Here is my kindergarten, MS Paint drawing of what I'm planning.

Beyond any potential controversy over pre-Nazi era antipathy, does it just look dumb?

2slow2matter 03-01-2007 03:34 PM

It looks fine. Go for it.

ChuckW 03-01-2007 03:35 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I'd cover it any way that you persoanlly think looks good. The Maltese cross is everywhere you look these days. Who cares if you're plane isn't a scale WW-1 model. I did a sort of rat-rod look on a 4*. It was flat black with chrome Maltese crosses. I eventually moved the CG too far back and lost it. The fact I was flying in the fog like an idiot didn't help either.

bbbair 03-01-2007 03:59 PM

The Maltese Cross (AKA Iron Cross) was and remains the symbol of the German Military.