RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Questions and Answers (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/)
-   -   what do do with an engine that has sat for years? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/questions-answers-154/9588417-what-do-do-engine-has-sat-years.html)

badcopnodonut!! 03-16-2010 09:31 PM

what do do with an engine that has sat for years?

Hello,I am new to flying but have reaped tons of sage advice from my brother who has been flying and buildingfor almost 20 years.With his help and a realflight 3 simulator I am off and flying.I have started out with SPADS,specificly H.O.R.[hell on rails] because they are durable,fairly cheap to build and tons of fun. I am now wanting something with wheels because I love Takeoffs/Landings.My brother sold a trainer to our brother-in-law 4 or 5 years ago and he has never used it,just sitting in his garage.My question is this-What potential problems could I have trying to get this plane in air now after sitting this long?My main concern is the engine.Ibelieve the engine is an O.S. .46.What do I need to do or look out for in trying to get this plane flying again?Many thanks in advance for your help.Brian

DavidAgar 03-16-2010 09:44 PM

RE: what do do with an engine that has sat for years?

Depending on how the engine was stored, you may not have any issues at all. If it was not pickled when it was put away, it may take some work to get it loosened up, put it is possible. I would also be concerned with the batteries in the plane and transmitter. They may be an issue. Good Luck, Dave

42etus 03-17-2010 12:30 AM