Notices

GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

 
Old 07-27-2006, 09:09 AM
  #1  
Rezagh
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rancho Santa MargaritaCA
Posts: 1,915
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Hi Guys,

I have put the new landing gear on our Yak 102" through series of tough tests and it has passed every single of them. I even did harrier landing yesterday and did not chip the prop. It just flexed enough to absorb the shock! I was running a 27x10 Mejzlik and prop didn't get near touching the ground. For those of you with GenII, do not hesitate to use the stock gear. It works really Awesome. I don't recommend harrier landings in general but for the sake of experiment I tried it and passed test wonderfully.

Thank you,
Reza
Quique's Aircraft Support
Rezagh is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:30 PM
  #2  
kredge540
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: , ON, CANADA
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Reza

Is there enough prop clearence on the Gen II to use a 28x10? On the Gen I I am useing a 27x10 but only because there is not enough ground clearence for a 28x10.

Kevin.
kredge540 is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 04:36 PM
  #3  
Rezagh
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rancho Santa MargaritaCA
Posts: 1,915
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Kevin,

Yes, you can use 28x10 on GenII landing gear. I don't see any problem with that. Landing gear doesn't flex as much but still does absorb the impact. I was expecting to chip my prop when I dropped the plane from almost 1 foot off the ground but I didn't. I feel no one should have any problem with the new gear at least I hope so.

Thank you,
Reza
Rezagh is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 06:33 PM
  #4  
JET-A
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Ive broke about three props already on gen1 gear are the gen 2 avail for purchase??

thanks
JET-A is offline  
Old 10-16-2006, 07:56 PM
  #5  
Rezagh
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (73)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rancho Santa MargaritaCA
Posts: 1,915
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Unfortunately, GenII landing is wider at base and won't fit the Gen I fuse!

Thank you,
Reza
Rezagh is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 05:35 PM
  #6  
Iflyit
My Feedback: (512)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Zebulon, NC
Posts: 493
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

So what options are there for the gen 1 yaks? I am putting one together now and dont like the thought of a weak gear if it damages $50 props.
Iflyit is offline  
Old 11-06-2006, 07:48 PM
  #7  
Tricktrack
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Columbus, NE
Posts: 261
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

Iflyit,

I purchased the TNT metal gear for my Yak, 13" version and while it added a little weight, it did not change performance at all. I have a ton of clearence now.
Tricktrack is offline  
Old 11-07-2006, 07:53 PM
  #8  
JET-A
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII Yak 102 Landing Gear

What did the gear cost ??

thanks
JET-A is offline  
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.