Notices

GenII 102" Yak Questions

 
Old 04-17-2007, 09:44 PM
  #1  
PTS
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (153)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ROSWELL, NM
Posts: 505
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GenII 102" Yak Questions

Hello!

I really am liking what I see on the Gen II Yak. Are the planes available for purchase and what is a good online dealer to order one with the Hardware upgrade? Also are their any options in colors? I have a brand new DA-100 for power and Hitec 5955TG Servos. Would one HITEC 5955TG one the rudder work or should I use two.

Thanks,

Perry

PTS is offline  
Old 04-17-2007, 10:04 PM
  #2  
PTS
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (153)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: ROSWELL, NM
Posts: 505
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

I just checked my servo inventory!

Hitec 5985's - Ailerons

Hitec 5955's - Rudder and Elevators


Will 4.5" wheels fit the pants?

Perry
PTS is offline  
Old 04-18-2007, 05:48 AM
  #3  
randy racer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: mayfield, KY
Posts: 1,429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

PTS, you will love the 102 yak. go to QQ's web site and get one on order. i think they still have them in stock.

the DA 100 is my first choise for this plane and also the 5955's are what you need. you need 2 per aileron, 1 per elevator, and 2 on the rudder. for a short time i had one JR 8611a on rudder and it did ok but was a little mushy for me.

randy
randy racer is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 07:00 AM
  #4  
rbittin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

I just received my 102" Yak, Can't wait to get started. Question: I happen to be a Futaba supporter, have never owned a JR Radio system. Need to purchase Futaba or Hitec servo etc. Current have Futaba PCM receivers, will they handle the current load of several large digital servos? If not any suggestions.
rbittin is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 08:51 AM
  #5  
shakes268
Senior Member
 
shakes268's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fairview, TN
Posts: 1,320
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

Current receivers should handle the power requirements for the high torque digitals on the market. You shouldn't have any problems. I use a Smart-Fly power expander in my 102", but that is for the ease of setup, RF filtering (which with spectrum radios it won't be much of an issue), and short protection/batshare functionality.

If you don't like using something like that, you will be just fine using only a receiver. The plane flies great and 8 servos isn't going to fry your receiver if thats what you're worried about.
shakes268 is offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 07:45 PM
  #6  
randy racer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: mayfield, KY
Posts: 1,429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

i have been flying mine with all 8611a's without a power expander on a JR reciever for over 400 flights without a reciever problem. i have had 3 servos fail and a bunch of gear slop but the reciever has handled the power needs very well. my next plane will have all 5955's in it due to the reports from other people flying the 5955's, no problems or slop. i do thing a power expander is a good idea and will use one on the 40% plane i am building now.

randy
randy racer is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 02:46 AM
  #7  
bodywerks
My Feedback: (4)
 
bodywerks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Elgin, AZ
Posts: 3,867
Received 53 Likes on 50 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

You don't need two 5955's on the rudder. If you don't already have two, try one and see how you like it. Mine was fine, but my plane was also about 2-3 pounds lighter than the Gen II and typical DA 100/cannister combos that everyone else uses...
bodywerks is offline  
Old 04-23-2007, 06:14 AM
  #8  
randy racer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: mayfield, KY
Posts: 1,429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

my Gen II came in at 26.5 lbs and it does well with one rudder servo ( 8611a ) but with two it is great and i wouldn't go back to using one but thats just me.

randy
randy racer is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 07:43 PM
  #9  
rbittin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

Once again on servo selection, is all that torque needed for the average sport flyer with this airplane?

As you can tell from the question I 'm certaily not a 3-D style flyer, precision aerobatics is more my thing. Not sure if I need to purchase all that torque for my flying style. Comments please.

Thanks Randy
rbittin is offline  
Old 04-27-2007, 10:10 PM
  #10  
randy racer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: mayfield, KY
Posts: 1,429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

the 102 QQ Yak is way to nice of a plane to go cheep on servos. it will fly with less but stronger servos keep control serfaces from fluttering and the plane will handle more chrisp. this is just the way i feel but if i spend 4 to 5 G's on a plane a couple hundred more $$ to be sure it last longer and flys better is worth it.

randy
randy racer is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:15 AM
  #11  
TOPGUN130643
My Feedback: (38)
 
TOPGUN130643's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: HARTWELL, GA
Posts: 137
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

I agree with Randy, I've got 2 5955 on rudder'2 5955 on elv. 4 on ail. now if I could get the Fromeco batt. in I would be a happy man. Guess I'll fly it after Joe Nall
TOPGUN130643 is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 08:32 AM
  #12  
rbittin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

Thanks for the info, I will be ordering the 5955's for this project. Build many 1/3 scale projects, never put this much servo power in them. Will be interesting to see how much better it will perform with this servo power. It has to make a big difference!! I can't wait !!

Randy
rbittin is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 09:54 AM
  #13  
randy racer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: mayfield, KY
Posts: 1,429
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

Randy, you are doing the right thing. let us know what you think about the set up when you have it flying.

randy canter A.K.A. randy racer

P.S.
thats a lot of randys
randy racer is offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 05:26 PM
  #14  
nuvaring
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pompton Lakes, NJ
Posts: 236
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GenII 102" Yak Questions

Randy, This is the first time I used this much servo power and believe me, you will like it..... The 102Yak is my first giant scale 3D plane. I think what you'll notice is that it doesn't feel like a big plane. All that servo power and large control surfaces makes the plane very responsive, much like a smaller 60 size plane. Not the best example but you'll know what I mean!!

Good luck
nuvaring is offline  
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.