Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Ofna buggy not starting...

Old 07-29-2015, 03:07 PM
DontTredOnMe16

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ofna buggy not starting...

I'm a newbie and trying to start my ofna buggy, can someone give me a step by step of exactly how to start a nitro? I put the glow plug igniter in, dribbled a few drops of nitro in the carb and turned it over with my drill and it won't fire up. Any thoughts???
Old 07-30-2015, 09:20 AM
Anthoop

Firstly, running one of these little engines can be quite a steep learning curve...stick with it and be patient and if in doubt ask.

I will try to cover most bases here....but there are no set rules/procedures that everyone will follow...everyone has their own little way...

When an engine is new it is advisable to check the carburettor settings...if you have them in your manual then check how they are set currently and compare to what the manual is telling you...note what they were and set as manual suggests (if you do not have a manual then either search Google or tell us what engine it is).

Ensure you have the correct nitro percentage fuel for your engine and the correct glow plug (spare plugs will be handy because breaking in an engine usually involves running a rich mixture...and that rich mixture damages plugs).

Ensure the glow igniter is fully charged and the glow plug is glowing when put into the igniter.

(Also you should check the full operation of the servos and failsafe...tighten every nut/bolt/screw on the model before proceeding).

So now we are going to start the engine....
Fill the fuel tank...not overfull...ensure the fuel tank lid shuts correctly (it has to form a seal).

Priming the engine with fuel (I note you are putting some fuel down the carb. neck...whilst this can work it is not the method I would suggest...keep the air filter attached at all times).