Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

XTM Xterminator help

Old 10-01-2007, 08:37 PM
nobrainedbanana

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XTM Xterminator help

I am sorry to bog down a forum with a noob question but here goes. My wife and I both bought xtm xterminators and hers worked fine and in typical fashion...min didnt. Had an engine replace and now have the bigger xtm 457engine. Hobby People doesn't like us because we are new and refuse to assist us so they made us break in my engine. Half way through break in...I noticed my car , in a way, locked up. It didnt roll freely....seems the gears dont let it roll. I am not an expert on engines and need any help...should I try another Hobby people. Do they do reairs. Seems to me they hate to be bothered with this. Also.....while I was trying to break it in...the vehicle doesnt run idle....It wants to shoot off as soon as I start it. I turn on the car and radio so it isnt that problem . We both have xtm sure starts in place of the pull starts and when I stick the starter in to crank the vehicle rolls forward as well....if that makes sense. I can get the engine started...but It still rolls high speed as if I gassed it and usually whn i apply the bbrake it stalls but if it doesnt...when I release the brake it is back at running high speed as if I am applying thottle. I have tried everything from changing the idle setting....setting the valves at where they are suppose to be and EVERYTHING....but i am not good at this. I feel frustrated for not knowing what to do even though I have basic knowledge at this and really do not know what to do as my wife has wasted 400+ on this gift for me for my birthday (sept 21). Is the engine messed up? Did I miss something? Is there somewhere I can take this? or is it to late? I enjoyed my car with its first engine and it ran really good...but we got blamed for that engine failing when we didnt do anything to adjust it.