Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Glow plug ??

Old 05-20-2010, 11:28 AM
  #1  
amen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
amen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, GREECE
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glow plug ??

Just wondering wehter this is normal. I placed a novarossi med plug #4 in my hyper 7 with .21 eng, after about 3/4 tank plug went bad! I did notice plug was wet, therefore running rich. Does this sound normal??
thanx
Old 05-20-2010, 02:59 PM
  #2  
breezerboat
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 629
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Is that plug supposed to work in the engine? buy plugs your manual says to use ask people what plugs are for your engine. Is is a turbo engine?

Sometimes plugs are duds. It's happened to me a couple times where a plug just didn't work right.
Old 05-20-2010, 03:00 PM
  #3  
K_B
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 1,655
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Plugs can last months or minutes. Try another one and if it goes bad right away, then you've got a problem somewhere. Like you said, it could be running too rich a fouling the plug...
Old 05-20-2010, 03:13 PM
  #4  
jmaxey51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: statham, GA
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

STAY AWAY FROM NOVA PLUGS!! they are junk, nova engines are one of the best but their plugs are no good. get an OS #8 plug, thats what i ran in mine and i would get almost 2 gallons on one plug.
Old 05-20-2010, 04:45 PM
  #5  
RcGeEk NeVeR QuItS
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: West Brom, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Good Tip.I switched from rb plugs that lasted 1 1/2 gal.To nova and lasted 2 mins.
ORIGINAL: jmaxey511

STAY AWAY FROM NOVA PLUGS!! they are junk, nova engines are one of the best but their plugs are no good. get an OS #8 plug, thats what i ran in mine and i would get almost 2 gallons on one plug.
Old 05-21-2010, 11:32 PM
  #6  
rpg711
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Posts: 213
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Guys, running rich does nothing to your engine... Or i would have killed 8 expensive os turbo plugs breaking my gx5r in
Old 05-22-2010, 12:17 AM
  #7  
jmaxey51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: statham, GA
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??


ORIGINAL: rpg711

Guys, running rich does nothing to your engine... Or i would have killed 8 expensive os turbo plugs breaking my gx5r in
break-in is totally different but running the engine really rich at the track or yard WILL ruin plugs, it builds up fuel and wont get hot enough to run the engine anymore.

Old 05-26-2010, 04:26 AM
  #8  
amen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
amen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, GREECE
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

ok, I got myself a OS med #8, and the car runs like a beauty!! Thanks for the input guys!!

Just one more question. After putting in the OS, I noticed that the plug was forming little brown spots on the bottom were the coil is (not on the coil) what is this/is this normal??
thanks
Old 05-26-2010, 07:50 AM
  #9  
tommygun32
Senior Member
 
tommygun32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego but living in Dubai, UNITED ARAB EMIRATE
Posts: 4,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Exactly what engine are you running? If it's an OFNA engine, I believe these are PICCO based engines and should ideally use a PICCO plug.

I've read in a previous thread that some plugs' threads are not compatible with some engines' threads.

I.e: don't use an OS plug in a Jammin JPX .21 engine, use a PICCO plug. You have the possibility of stripping or re-threading the plug seat and won't be able to go back to PICCO plugs if you use the OS plugs.

Also, using the wrong make of plug in a different engine effects detonation due to how the plug sits into the button head. I have personally seen this, again with a PICCO plug versus and OS plug in two different JPX21 heads. The PICCO sits absolutely perfectly flush, while the OS goes a bit beyond flush into the chamber...noticably so. This will effect performance.

If you're just bashing and it works for you....I guess that's fine if you're happy. If you're racing and looking for every single edge you can find, using the right plug in the right engine is a must.

Good luck
Old 05-27-2010, 02:47 AM
  #10  
amen
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
amen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Athens, GREECE
Posts: 225
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

Its a hobao hyper .21 engine. It originally came with a fastrax plug (here in europe) Thanks for the info though!!
Old 05-27-2010, 09:44 AM
  #11  
jmaxey51
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: statham, GA
Posts: 930
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glow plug ??

ORIGINAL: amen

ok, I got myself a OS med #8, and the car runs like a beauty!! Thanks for the input guys!!

Just one more question. After putting in the OS, I noticed that the plug was forming little brown spots on the bottom were the coil is (not on the coil) what is this/is this normal??
thanks
its a little rich, most of the time all engines will get that. but that engine will run best when it temps at 240-260, but i dont tune by temp i tune by smoke and just use a temp gun to back up my decision.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.