RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   RC Airboats (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-airboats-246/)
-   -   Help designing/scratch building small airboat (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/rc-airboats-246/11628827-help-designing-scratch-building-small-airboat.html)

golf4two 04-22-2016 05:59 PM

Help designing/scratch building small airboat

First, I'm an airplane guy...not much experience with boats except as a kid (which was many, many years (decades) ago!). I have over 25 years experience designing, building and flying aircraft but know nothing about boats except that most are designed to float and "motigate" across the water.

I have the electronics and motor from a "foamy" airplane that I won and didn't like very much that I'd like to put to use. Lots of ponds and a couple of lakes nearby and a kind of long drive to the flying field so I thought it might be fun to build a little air boat to piddle with. Here's what I have on hand:

(All EFlite stuff from a flying wing that was quite speedy)
BL180 2500 KV motor
4.5" pusher prop

8 AMP EFLA 7200 ESC

2 cell 450 MA 30C Lipo

A couple of micro servos

FUTABA 2.4 GHZ aircraft radio (I assume that would be OK).

Building materials would be balsa, ply, foam and fiberglass. I'm comfortable with all three.

My questions are many, but lets start with:
1. What basic dimensions should I shoot for given the above power setup?
(It needn't be a speedy little thing, just some fun at the airfield lake.)
2. I assume a 2.4 GHZ aircraft radio would be OK.
3. Are there any (hopefully free) plans or design links that would help me get started?
4. At what incidence to the main hull line should the motor be placed?
5. Any special considerations besides waterproofing the radio/battery compartment and its hatch?

That's all I'm smart enough to ask at this time.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

pinky_d_brain 04-25-2016 01:52 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I did this up some time ago
Built up wing for design??