Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Old 11-08-2010, 08:41 AM
  #1  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Thinking of geting a hobby king 2.4, 4 ch stick radio for my scale and sail boats. Do they work OK on water? Would a tactic be better? feed back please! Larry
Old 11-08-2010, 11:40 PM
  #2  
racer504
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
racer504's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Georgetown, IN
Posts: 209
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

I used the version 1- 4ch this summer in a sail boat with no problems at all. I have both antenna's concealed inside the hull.
Old 11-11-2010, 03:28 AM
  #3  
pompebled
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sneek, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 2,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Hi Blizard,

As long as your transmitter can 'see' the boat (no obstructions by buildings etc.) these 2,4 sets even work on speedboats, where the roostertail is notorious for blocking the radio signal.

Regards, Jan.
Old 11-11-2010, 08:39 AM
  #4  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Thank you both,for the info. Going to get one before the boat show in April. Larry
Old 11-11-2010, 04:53 PM
  #5  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Just ordered one, not bad for $35 shipped. Hope it works out ok. Larry
Old 11-12-2010, 03:21 PM
  #6  
pompebled
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sneek, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 2,451
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Hi Larry,

For scale and sail they work fine.

It may be an idea to get a seperate receiver for each model, to save time and trouble swapping from boat to boat.

I'm running all my models from a single transmitter (Graupner MC-12) and have several receivers, one for every model that's loaded in the car when going to the lake.

Regards, Jan.
Old 11-13-2010, 06:44 AM
  #7  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4


ORIGINAL: pompebled

Hi Blizard,

As long as your transmitter can 'see' the boat (no obstructions by buildings etc.) these 2,4 sets even work on speedboats, where the roostertail is notorious for blocking the radio signal.

Regards, Jan.
So,solid objects block the signal, Is this true of all 2.4 radios?? thanks Larry
Old 11-13-2010, 08:07 AM
  #8  
res3567
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,263
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Early 2.4 surface systems, mainly Spectrum had issues in the water. Basically....as long as your Rx is above the water line, you should be fine. Spectrum created a marine reciever with dual antenna's to overcome the problem, but this is only neccerary if the Rx is deep in the hull and below the water line.Aquacraft's Tatic Rx does not even have an external antenna and it works just fine. It is included now in at least four of there popular RTR kits. I have used theTatic with now issues whatsoever.
Old 11-15-2010, 12:00 PM
  #9  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

They charge $3 more from the US warehouse,but shipping is less. Saved a cpl $$ bying from US warehouse. $35 shipped. Going in my midwest lobster boat Larry
Old 11-17-2010, 02:44 PM
  #10  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

The radio came today,no instructions. Had to modify the servo plugs to fit. Black wire on outside of RX, what's the smal jumper wire for? Larry
Old 11-23-2010, 07:42 AM
  #11  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

I put the radio in my lobster boat,the antena is in the plastic exaust pipe. I also got a tactic radio off the market place,for a good price Larry
Old 11-23-2010, 10:02 AM
  #12  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

There's another thread in here that has a link to a video that will show you how to set up the radio.

OK, found it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WiSJYhmNv0
Old 01-15-2011, 06:44 AM
  #13  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

My brouser won't support you tube,and I have dial up (slow) Can anyone help me set up the radio? HK 4 ch sys 2 ? how do I use the binding plug ?
Old 01-15-2011, 02:31 PM
  #14  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

Been there with dial-up so I feel your pain.
According to what I've seen, you plug in the binder, turn on the TX then the RX. Once you bind it and the job is done, remove the binder then you should be set.
Old 01-15-2011, 05:16 PM
  #15  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4


ORIGINAL: Ron Olson

Been there with dial-up so I feel your pain.
According to what I've seen, you plug in the binder, turn on the TX then the RX. Once you bind it and the job is done, remove the binder then you should be set.
Where do I plug it in ? I just pluged in the ESC and ST servo and it worked, do I have to do anything else?? Do I plug in the binder for each function?
Old 01-15-2011, 05:23 PM
  #16  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

It could be your lucky day if everything is working.
There should have been an included CD with instructions but I don't know if it's helpful or not.
Old 01-15-2011, 05:31 PM
  #17  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4


ORIGINAL: Ron Olson

It could be your lucky day if everything is working.
There should have been an included CD with instructions but I don't know if it's helpful or not.
With that radio,all you get is TX, RX and the binding plug,no instructions. a big THANKS to you Ron
Old 01-15-2011, 05:34 PM
  #18  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,688
Likes: 0
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

No problem.
I've been looking at their 3-channel pistol grip radios so I've seen the videos of how to set them up.
Old 01-15-2011, 05:49 PM
  #19  
blizard05
Thread Starter
 
blizard05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: plymouth, MA
Posts: 1,049
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

ORIGINAL: Ron Olson

No problem.
I've been looking at their 3-channel pistol grip radios so I've seen the videos of how to set them up.
So have I, looks like a good buy,10 moddel memory,low cost rx. Think I will try one. Out of stock now,but I have a reminder with them. They expect them in Feb Larry
Old 01-26-2011, 05:55 PM
  #20  
ken webb
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: lakeland, FL
Posts: 101
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

I have 2 Flysky 2 chl. radios in trucks. Both came all ready bound. Bought abd extra rec. and bound it no problem. Just remember to turn the system off after binding and then back on. Instructions don't tell you this. I bought both radios from Hobbypartz.com. Low shipping charges and they ship from Calif. warehouse. I've had good luck with the few items I've bought. Also bought their nimd batteries to use in transmitters.Tight fit, but they work.2200mah. I have and old Futaba charger that plugright in and works great. Sometimes pays off to save old equipment. I've had no problems with either radio abd my trucks get flipped dipped and rolled. I've haven't had any range problems either. My thoughts on the subject. I wonder if this company might be building some of the name brand r/c units, since most are made in China.
Old 01-26-2011, 06:57 PM
  #21  
hugho
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oxnard, CA
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: RE Hobby King radio 2.4

I've had one for several months and iy works great in my Dumas Chris craft. I have a video of it, but I can't load it. RC subscritpions doesn't like AVI files.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.