Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
help with an esc >

help with an esc

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

help with an esc

Old 08-27-2003, 02:41 AM
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with an esc

I'm new to r/c boats and have a question about speed controllers, would it be a better idea to use an esc or a mechanical speed controller? I would like to use an esc but it might be cost restricting. I am capable of building one but have not been able to find a reversing esc schematic. I have a few ideas but I thought I would check with the experienced ones before I threw money at a hull and wound up with an awesome video of a burning boat......... :stupid: any help is appreciated
Old 08-28-2003, 12:22 PM

Default help with an esc

I'm another newie to RC Boats. I am in process of getting an ESC for my Blaadrunner 101. Near as I can tell with the mechanical speed control you only have one speed forward, no variable or reverse.

I may uqgrade my electric motor for more speed and want to buy an esc that will accomodate bigger motor. Hoping for a clear answer today from Tower Hobbies. The Great Plains ESC Wave Rocket is the one I'm getting. $42.99

I'm not much help to your specific question but the ESC situation is not clear to me either.

G. B. Robbins
Old 08-29-2003, 03:14 PM

Default help with an esc

G.B. Robbins
Thank you for your reply, I'm finding a very large fuzzy spot when it comes to the esc question. I haven't been able to find an answer yet, does everyone only use forward on r/c boats or do they have a secret supplier of esc's that has limited stock. I find it hard to believe that nobody sells these things for less than $250
Old 09-01-2003, 05:12 PM

Default help with an esc

Have a look at the article "What happens when I wiggle the sticks" on my home page http://homepage.ntlworld.com/fast.electrics It might help to demystify things a bit.