Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

R/C tech help

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2013, 10:33 AM
irish026

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default R/C tech help

Hey guys, I'm just getting into R/C Boats because a friend of mine gave me his old CESA 1882 R/C Boat. However this R/C boat has some age to it, and it is not working properly. I've tested the remote control and put new batteries in it. The voltage indicator is showing that the remote does in fact turn on. So I dont know if the crystal in the remote control is bad or not. When I try to power the prop on my boat with the remote control, the prop will not spin nor will the rutter turn. I do not know if one of the 2 servos are bad or both of them are bad. It could also be the 2 channel reciever or the crystal in the reciever. Or it could be as simple as the on/off switch being bad. I just bought a new battery pack so i do not think that the battery pack is the problem. If anyone could give me some guidence as to how to test the servos or the reciever or if anyone can share with me a similar situation and how they fixed their boat it would be much appriciated.
Old 02-04-2013, 04:28 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: R/C tech help

Testing servos - cheapest way is the find a friend with a known working model with a compatible radio that the servos can be plugged into.  
Next cost up, a servo tester.  Googling for an "rc servo tester circuit" will provide lots of DIY links.  Ready made ones are available.
Simplest and most reliable is to just replace the existing electronics with new 2.4GHz gear, which is reliable and with a bit of shopping around, not too expensive.  Quite often a good deal can be had including new, guaranteed, servos. It will also be legal to use and unlikely to either cause or be susceptible to interference with other users.