Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Would undervoltage kill a trolling motor (24 volts DC battery)?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Would undervoltage kill a trolling motor (24 volts DC battery)?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2016, 05:45 AM
radio18

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Would undervoltage kill a trolling motor (24 volts DC battery)?

Would undervoltage kill a trolling motor (24 volts DC battery)? would it kill my digital wireless controlled trolling motor (designed to run on 24 volts) when hook up to a 12v battery?
I heard different story about this. Can somebody explain and thanks in advance?

I just bought a digitally wireless motorguide 75 pounds big trolling motor and didn't want to ruin this nice big motor by doing some silly things. My TM does have a control board to steer the motor. I am new to the RC world, and I have a smaller hand controlled TM 30 pounds and would like to set it up for my canoe so I can control it wirelessly. So, I bought a wiper motor (reversible) to hopefully somehow come up with a mechanism to steer it wirelessly. Any suggestion about how to do about this? Why? I want to kill 2 birds in 1 shot, just in case my big 75 pounds control board breaks, I can easily figure out how to build a IC board to get it to run again. Motorguide don't sell this board anymore, so if it breaks I am out of luck! Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	motorguide75.jpg
Views:	751
Size:	1.18 MB
ID:	2193111  

Last edited by radio18; 12-11-2016 at 08:23 AM.
Old 12-12-2016, 01:52 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

Reducing the voltage to the motor will usually just reduce performance. Reduced voltage to a control board is unlikely to damage the board, but might not let it work. It all depends on the design.