Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

New to boats need recommendations!

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

New to boats need recommendations!

Old 09-23-2019, 04:25 PM
BLBncsu

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New to boats need recommendations!

Hi all. I’m new to the boat world but have experience with nitro cars, airplanes, and helis. I have some young boys I want to get into boats.
I would be looking to run in some small lakes but also a lot in the ocean sound side intracoastal area in smooth water outside our condo (Ie salt water) I currently have a cheap $30 amazon boat just to try and it works well in smooth water even on the sound at lower speeds but not what we’d want. Not looking for high speeds to be honest.
Looking for any recommendations on a larger but stable and ideally self righting boat. Like to get this groups input in any options!
The following users liked this post:
Cuppy (02-03-2020)
Old 09-23-2019, 11:56 PM
Hydro Junkie

Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts

Could you give us a bit more info on what you are actually wanting? It would be nice to know the following:
  • Hull style
  • Preferred power
  • Scale like or just something that floats
  • Size requirements
Larger, stable and self righting leaves a lot to be desired, especially since most self righting boats are normally swimming pool sized electrics
Old 09-24-2019, 12:19 PM
BLBncsu

Originally Posted by Hydro Junkie View Post
Could you give us a bit more info on what you are actually wanting? It would be nice to know the following:
  • Hull style
  • Preferred power
  • Scale like or just something that floats
  • Size requirements
Larger, stable and self righting leaves a lot to be desired, especially since most self righting boats are normally swimming pool sized electrics
I'll do the best I can given my limited knowledge somewhat.
- Prefer probably a V-shaped hull