Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

WL-915 ESC Started smoking

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

WL-915 ESC Started smoking

Old 05-07-2020, 09:04 AM
Syden

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question WL-915 ESC Started smoking

Hello,
Recently I bought a RC electric boat from WLToys WL915. Since I bought the boat it worked all fine and all parts are original from the factory. Today I took my boat for a quick ride and pluged the battery, but as I pluged the battery the ESC started to beep like crazy and after 2 seconds it smoked and I directly unpluged it. I'm totally new to the RC electric boat world so I have no idea what can cause such a thing, since everything is original. I wander if any of you have an idea of what might have happened so I don't repeate my mistake (if there is one). Thank You.
Old 05-08-2020, 12:59 AM
mfr02

Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts

If the ESC has been hot enough to smoke, there is a good chance that it is now a paperweight.
The usual cause is too high a load - with the power off, the prop should be able to be turned easily. Although it beeped and smoked before it had time to do anything, it might have had a problem at the end of the previous session.
With any brushless setup, the motor and ESC can only be tested together as they are two parts of the same thing. A replacement ESC should also have a replacement motor, the last thing you need is to have the motor break the new ESC.
The following users liked this post:
Syden (05-08-2020)
Old 05-08-2020, 01:44 AM
Syden